Susan Christiana
2 min readNov 6, 2018

--

Gail Boenning ,

Oddly this story ended as I opened it at the statement above.

Wow, I’m so glad I reopened it. It certainly has a lot more story I would have missed. The comments too, very enlightening.

I had three sons that played football and yes , at times of injury my heart was in my throat.

My middle son played in college , a lineman , many hair raising events I could have done without . Concussions plus!

He was also a beautiful vocalist. Because of Football, he missed Regionals in “Dio Chorus” One year only, because of playoffs in Football.it was a difficult choice.

Three other years we attended these musical events and I will never forget saying to my husband “ this is where it is really at”

Watching talented vocal performers parade in with their school choral robes, their sashes and 🏅 medals from corresponding school colors. It lifts one’s heart. Raises you up like I couldn’t believe.

This story made me really think . Being they were never expected to play anything at all, in the end the singer did get his neck broken not in football, but a fall, years later. He had a few months of paralysis , God is good, he walks , sings and coaches high school football? Ironic huh?

Wait, it doesn’t end here, they discovered thyroid cancer because of the broken neck and scans. a wonderful surgeon was able to save the vocal chords .

I know God had a hand in this story, otherwise it would have happened on the football field.

Thanks Gail your insight was very enlightening . It always is come to think of it.

--

--

Susan Christiana

I read and clap voraciously. I appreciate you being here .