Susan Christiana
1 min readMay 11, 2017

The House that rabbit built.

A nonsense poem

Would you love the Wooden Rabbit, would rabbits occupy? I surely doubt that rabbits woulda wanna even try.

Ask Dr. Seuss, I’m sure he has an answer , it goes like this Im sure,

Mr. Rabbit. Mrs. Rabbit do you see yourself in this ?

not so nearly or so clearly would we see ourselves or wish,

We could curtain every window, add a drape or two, beware

The neighbors would be nosey , noisy and despair .

I could see myself a planting , and prancing as i do,

Planting and romancing as most often humans do.

We’d fill it up with bunnies, oh sweet honey’s they would be,

Perhaps we will keep looking we’d like to keep us 3.

The Wooden Rabbit was a favorite B&B we loved . Previous owners sold the home. It had a rich history of underground railroad stories that were fascinating. The breakfasts were to die for.

The only physical remembrance that remains is this stationary I came across yesterday, the home still stands.

Cape May memories are intact and wonderful!

Susan Christiana

I read and clap voraciously. I appreciate you being here .