A day in the life of a Growth Marketer

Susan Ikegwu
2 min readSep 6, 2021

--

Susan Ikegwu, Growth & Acquisition Manager
Susan Ikegwu- Growth Marketer

Looks at Mixpanel, Queries on Metabase, Design experiments…

I think I fell in love with Marketing, even more, when I decided to transition to Growth & Acquisition. My decision was made because I’m a fixer. Give me any problems and I’ll fix them. When everyone is doing all right, I like to be left alone and sometimes people think I don’t care. But when things need to get done, I’m the first one there. To me, caring is fixing. I like to solve hard problems and whilst digital marketing is great, I wanted more and more is Growth.

How do I think about marketing now? In my early days, I thought about marketing like channels. What has changed? Now, I think about marketing like a funnel/ growth loop and my question always is “What next?”

  1. I have acquired a lot of users and crushed my KPI, what next?
  2. I have gotten 100,000 app installs, what next?
  3. Over 70% moved from install to sign up, what next?

You see, with growth, there is always that question of what next which brings the most interesting part of Growth, solving problems, coming up with Hypotheses, and carrying out experiments to validate your ideas. (I will share more on how I do all of these soon)

The most important thing for me every day is to look at dashboards created that are in line with metrics that make up our North Star Metrics(NSM), our goal of that month vs our reality, and many more dashboards.

I also spend most of my days brainstorming, Prioritising, Planning, and Executing experiments and learn from the experiments.

I think one of the most important steps here is prioritization… I use the ICE scoring method to decide on which experiment to prioritize.

If you have any questions, drop a comment below or shoot me an email- suzyike80[at]gmail.com.

--

--