Customization in the Beauty Industry: A Shift towards a Customer-Centric Experience

Susanna Ly
8 min readAug 28, 2017

Ever since I’ve worked as a consultant in Europe, traveling has been one of the most exhilarating yet annoying experiences in my career. The latter is mostly because I used to be a horrible packer (though I have improved of late!). Figuring out what toiletries and make up I could fit into my bag without bringing my entire arsenal with me was my biggest annoyance.

Specifically, I found myself debating every time whether or not to bring my beloved Urban Decay Naked Eyeshadow Palette (see below).

Courtesy of Urban Decay

This palette would never fit into my travel bag because it contained 12 whole eyeshadows, and attracted dust on the outside during travel. I also only needed 4 out of the 12 shadows, so carrying the whole concoction with me always seemed silly. At the same time however, I liked the formula of the eyeshadows, so I didn’t want to buy new eyeshadows. Why wasn’t there any way to create a custom-made palette that fit all my specifications?

Lo and behold, I came across the Colourpop Magnetic Palette. It’s an empty palette and is intended as a case for loose eyeshadows. I could basically create my own eyeshadow palette!

--

--