How to reply an Introduction Email?

Sushma R
5 min readJul 31, 2020

--

Hello, Readers!

Whenever we are introduced to someone over email, our struggle to send a proper reply starts. What concerns us so much about just a reply? Maybe because this is sort of our first ever interaction with staff to whom we are being introduced and we want to leave a good impression by sending a reply that is perfect and meaningful. But the questions like where to start, whom to address and what to say, use of correct English, is it getting too short or long leaves us confused.

What shall I say?

To answer these questions and clarify the confusion up to certain extent I have tried listing few reply formats here, which may help you.

When you reply to introductory emails, remember the following:

  1. Move the person(s) to whom you are introduced to the Reply To field because now it is your turn to initiate the conversation with them.
  2. Move the sender (who has introduced you) to Bcc and start the reply by thanking him/her. Plus add a line about this person as a courtesy. This will delete the sense of “your work is over” and make them feel that you actually recognize their gesture of introducing you and help you start the conversation.
  3. Now, greet the person(s) to whom you are introduced. If you know them already you can mention so by adding few lines about it. If you are new to them mention how happy and delighted you are to get a chance to know them.
  4. Then, you can add lines about the work / task for which you are introduced.
  5. Closure.

I have listed few scenarios and their replies below.

SAMPLE 1: When you are a new recruit and are introduced to the staff for the first time.

To the following email:

Welcome on board, <Employee Name>! We are pleased to have you in <Company Name>.

We are looking forward to seeing you making a great contribution in growth and development of <ABC Team> with utmost level of care and compassion. May you find the work atmosphere here as challenging as you desired for. I wish you all the best!

Sincerely,

HR Team

Reply 1: The reply can be:

Thank you <Sender> for the warm welcome. I am pleased to be part of <Company Name>.

I hope to contribute my best work for the success and growth of the <Team name>.

Looking forward to working with you.

Yours truly,

<You name>

Reply 2: You can also reply as:

Dear <Sender>,

Thank for your kind words. I am really excited to be part of <Company Name>.

Looking forward to working with you.

Best,

<You name>

SAMPLE 2: When you are introduced to someone or a team to start working with.

Tip: Move <Y> to CC and <Z> to BCC

Reply can be:

Thanks <sender > (moving to Bcc)!

Pleased to meet you <to whom you are introduced>. I hear about your great work frequently.

Let me know when we can start working on <task details>. How about planning a meeting?

Let’s catch up soon!

Best,

<Your name>

SAMPLE 3: When you are introduced to someone to assist them

Tip: Move <Y> to CC and <Z> to BCC

Sample

To the following email:

Hi <X>

Trust all is well. Via this mail want to make an intro so <X> can assist <Y> on formatting the deck.

<Y> has a rich engineering and operations background. <X> is our <my designation>, who always produces good work.

Regards

<Z>

The reply can be:

Reply 1:

Thanks <Z> (moved to Bcc) for introducing me to <Y>. You always inspire me to work better.

Nice to know about you, <Y>. As <Z> said I can assist in all <specify work> related tasks let me know whenever I am needed.

Looking forward to working with you.

Best Regards,

<X>

Reply 2:

<Y>,

Glad to meet you and thanks for the introduction <Z> (moved to Bcc).

I am interested to start working with you on <specify tasks>. Let’s catch up soon on a call or a meeting for further discussion.

Best Regards,

<X>

SAMPLE 4: When you have to introduce yourself to someone to help them or offer your service.

Tip: The italic text in the curved braces {Italic} is for information and not to be used in the reply.

Case 1:

When your boss suggests you to help someone in your office and you have to send an email related to it.

Tip: Keep your boss or one who suggested sending the mail in CC.

Dear <To which you are offering help>,

I am <you name> and I work as <designation>. The other day <Z: the one in cc> was talking about your requirement and how my skills can be helpful.

<Add a line about how you have contributed to the similar type of work in the past. Example, Earlier I have done “How to” guides for the <ABC>team>. I would like to have a look at the available <work> and we can work on improving it.

How about meeting and discussing the <work> in detail. Let me know your free time.

Best,

<Your name>

Case 2:

The following email can be helpful when you are re-introducing yourself to someone whom you met recently and want to remind them of something you discussed.

Dear <Y>,

I am <Your name>. Hope you remember me. We met on <Specify Day/Date > at a <Place/location>, <Add a line about the moment when you both met, this will help the person to identify you instantly. Example, You were there to celebrate your younger son’s birthday. I was at the next table >.

I am writing this in regards to <Add lines about the conversation you had that lead to this email. Example, I am writing this in regards to our discussion about how your son needs a good math’s teacher and how one of my friends can help>. <Add lines about what you can offer for help. Example, A friend of mine is a Math’s teacher at <ABC> school and offers private coaching as well>. {Always use “I am writing this in regards to” as a prefix before coming to the actual point}

Sharing herewith <Add details you want to share. Example, Sharing herewith the contact details >. {Use this line only if you want to share any details otherwise Skip and jump to the signature part}

Best Regards,

<You name>

That’s all for now folks, will keep adding more with time. Try these replies and in the comments section below, you can tell me if you used them or did they help you.

They might not be the best replies ever but will do the needful!

--

--