Surviving parental inspection and other expat challenges of 2016

Christmas time, or why it is better to watch TV with a dog

Malgorzata Niemcewicz
3 min readJan 9, 2016

Unlike many couples, we didn’t have the problem with deciding where to spend Christmas. Maybe because I forgot to ask. So my boyfriend ended up sitting at one table with my extended family, and survived a course of five soups during one meal, eating fish for three consecutive days, and socializing with my bad-ass grandmas. He deserted us a bit earlier than planned, but I guess we all have our boundaries. I took advantage of it and spent some time watching Pixar productions while rolling on the floor with my dog. A rare treat, I don’t get to watch movies at home which aren’t documentaries or at least political dramas based true stories without a couple of sneer comments and a scolding look. When it comes to spending time in front of a TV, my dog is definitely a much more agreeable companion — she doesn’t even complain when I tuck my cold feet under her, not to mention criticizing my selection of repertoire (although I must admit she tends to exhibit poor timing when it comes to notifying about her physiological needs).

Considering my viewing habits, I would have never guessed that I would spend the first day of the new year watching a 6-hour marathon of Gone with the Wind in Czech dubbing (I don’t understand Czech). I’m still not sure how this happened, given how I had spent the New Years Eve.

For that day, I planned something absolutely special. When others went to balls, clubs, parties and market squares, I was balancing on a ladder repainting my toilet to no other colour than Pantone colour of the year 2016, serenity blue. After 4 layers of paint, it looked absolutely dashing.

Xtreme makeover: before and after

Dirty and proud, I called mum to boast of my success. To my surprise, she sounded like she wanted to come over and see it for herself. Before, she was adamant in saying that she would come visit us when we get our status sorted (at least engaged, preferably married). But apparently repainted toilet beat these ceremonies, as she started packing food for me and dragged dad into her scheme. Soon after that call, they were both at my doorstep.

Parents paying you a visit, or how to act when your guests bring potatoes

For a 7-hour visit, my parents took with them 3 bags filled with home made food, stuff for lunch (including butter and potatoes in case I didn’t have them), clothes for change, extra sweater for me to keep me warm, duck tape, and of course their own slippers. Mum managed to refrain herself from cleaning my windows (although she had to give me a few tips on that), dad was amazed that Trnava was actually a nice city (right after I forced him to put down the screwdriver and go outside). After the tour around our favourite places, dad withdrew to the bedroom for a nap, I gossiped in the kitchen with my mom, and my sweetheart kept pouring us wine.

The New Year has started smoothly with this family atmosphere you get when you need to use the bigger table for the first time and you panic because you don’t have proper napkins. A great change from eating out of a bowl you hold on your laps while watching news —let’s keep it going.

--

--