Animal love

Suzanne Gaye Smoothy
3 min readSep 5, 2019

--

My mate Eddie.

Eddie is heading towards his twelfth birthday and is slowing down a little. Yet, still occasionally acts like a pup. Or a prancing pony, as I call him. His is a big boy with a loud and frightening bark but is a gentle giant.

Eddie has only been with me about five years but has been in the family since he was a pup. My youngest son was his owner until life dramas intervened and my son’s mental health declined to the state where he had to come and live with me. Naturally, he bought Eddie with him. Eddie had been kept full time on a chain at his previous residence and, due to numerous factors, had had little human interaction.

As my yard was not secure, he initially was on a chain here, too. We soon fixed the fences, so we thought and let him roam the yard. My son and I both went out one night, our separate ways. By sheer coincidence, neither of us came home and a storm developed. When I returned the following morning, Eddie was missing. I searched high and low and put notices out on social media. No results. I feared he had been hit by a car and was lying injured somewhere.

We heard nothing over the weekend, so decided to call the pound on Monday. To our delight and dismay, he was there. I was informed that he had eaten the local policeman’s chickens! I was told it would cost a significant amount of money to get him out and that the council was likely going to register him as a dangerous dog. This would mean he would be required to wear a muzzle any time he was outside the yard, that he be kept in a cage and that no children were to go within a certain distance of him. I was devastated. The ranger said that most people would simply have the dog put down.

Knowing full well my son was not capable of paying the costs associated with his ‘release’, I knew I would need to take Eddie on. Not that I wanted a dog. They are a huge responsibility, but he was part of our family. I contemplated the other option but feared the possible consequences of that on my son’s well-being. It really wasn’t an option at all.

I recall crying as I signed the paperwork and paid the money to have him registered in my name. I told the woman it was like bailing a child out of jail.

He’s a beautiful dog but had been subjected to unfair conditions and was full of worms. He didn’t just attack the chickens for the fun of it, he was hungry and that’s what dogs do.

With lots of love and proper care, he has become the most loyal and placid dog you would ever meet. Well, maybe not. Most of the time he’s fine but he still has anxiety issues under certain circumstances.

He is a much-loved member of our family and he loves the grandchildren who live locally (he hasn’t had much to do with the others as they live far away) and they love him. Although the youngest one still has some reservations.

They say you can’t teach old dogs new tricks but I reckon you can. Eddie now knows that when I open the roller door to leave, he needs to stay in the yard. He is permitted to go and mark his territory when I return. I sometimes get a greeting first, other times he heads straight to the tree. I think it depends on whether or not there has been a yard intruder!

I am astonished when i hear people talk about animals as if they have not feelings, no comprehension. I truly believe all animals are like the human animal. In the main, all are beautiful creatures when treated with love and consideration.

--

--