Birdie Buffet update: The sun is almost gone, and all of my little pals went to bed quite awhile ago…

Suzette Sommer
2 min readJul 1, 2024

--

It was a busy day, though, and reassuring because everybody I kinda worry about came by. I love seeing them and knowing they are doing okay.

Lefty and Bobby were both early risers and got plenty of pieces of walnut to help them continue to get better.

Ms Pretty Bird knocked on my window numerous times and seems to be able to fly just fine despite her missing tail feathers. The other Jays are starting to land on the window sill to try to get my attention, but only one of them has figured out her trick of tapping on the glass with her beak.

Sam made repeated trips to get two of something at a time to run off with, standing up on my window sill, waving at me. I can see her nipples on her belly sticking out a little bit. Could Sammy be pregnant again, already??

Lots of other squirrels coming by, too, and about six Jays, I think, plus three crows who walk around silently on the lawn waiting for me to toss them peanuts. They know they have to be quiet to get me to come outside and toss.

The squirrels and Jays hang out on my patio and nearby together but apart. They coexist.

The Jays watch what the squirrels instigate, what kind of nuts they insist on and how they interact with me. They are influenced by what they see the squirrels do.

That’s why now the Jays mostly want filberts vs peanuts, because for awhile that’s what the squirrels wanted. Now, the squirrels are trending back to peanuts but the Jays are still big on filberts. I aim to please.

Someone else has been influenced by watching the squirrels, and that’s Mr Rabbit. He’s been watching me scatter sunflower hearts next to the big rhododendron bush right beside the patio and I could tell he was interested.

Earlier this evening, I noticed that Mr Rabbit was close by chomping on dandelion stems, and slipped outside to scatter some more sunflower hearts making sure he saw me doing it. Then, I quietly went back inside and peeked out the window..

Sure enough, Mr Rabbit soon moseyed over and helped himself to the seeds. I love to see him getting a bit of a treat. 🥰

Everyone is gone, now, tucked away somewhere for the night. I must admit that I do think about them as I curl up under my blankets, wondering where they all sleep. 😴

Photo by Andy Makely on Unsplash
Unlisted

--

--