Drifting… a cork in the ocean

Finding our anchor when we feel unsettled

Siow Vigman
2 min readSep 5, 2022

I should do this, I should do that…
But not really…
Rudderless and drifting…

I don’t know what I really want to do…
Nothing feels good…
Nothing feels right…

Time is ticking…not waiting
Scattered…anxious, heart racing, unsettled…
I’m flittering and searching…

This time I’m aware…
Oh no… not food, not snacks…
To soothe this sneak attack on our human state…

I am drifting…
Like a cork in the ocean…
In search of my anchor for today…

Aimless and mindless I wander…
What is this unease I wonder?
Who knows… but let’s listen and ponder…?

Settle, settle, settle… whispered awareness
Yes, yes, yes…replied consciousness
Think, move, act, do…deliberated mindfulness

Sweep the floor or go for a walk…
Read a prose or write it out…
Breathe and meditate…

A sign of relief…back to center…
Grounded by mindful awareness…our human anchor
Again, I ponder…

On the tenuous nature of the human state…
With the power of nature within our natural state…
To be unleashed through our soul in its peaceful state…

Therefore, be gentle and kind to yourself…
Drifting like a cork in the ocean… may be the inspiration
To find the anchor of peace that lies within you…

“When the mind is calm, how quickly, how smoothly, how beautifully you will perceive everything.” — -Paramahansa Yogananda

--

--