To My Dead Lover…

Swagata Deshmukh
1 min readSep 4, 2020

--

Hope this poem finds you well

Photo by Tsunami Green on Unsplash

Your eyes searched for me in every room,

sweeping across every corner like a broom.

The moment your eyes met mine, beaming,

I could see your heartbeat skipping.

You found reasons to meet me everyday,

laughed at every stupid joke I said.

From chocolates to my calls for help,

with every request, you happily dealt.

Our friends teased you for a day’s laugh,

you brushed it off every time, such a gaffe.

I still remember that awful day we fell apart.

You told me it was all in my head, not in your heart,

So I beat you and my heart into a thousand pieces,

But when I think of your dead face, it still lurches.

Inspired by the madness of Joe Goldberg from ‘You’.

--

--

Swagata Deshmukh

Funnily fabulous freelance writer because I eat confetti & snort humor✨ I love being creative, make memes and dream of becoming a cat one day!