How Your Surroundings Shape Your Life

Swaraj Patankar
2 min readJan 6, 2024

--

Hey there!

I’m about to turn 23, and I might be a novice when it comes to discussing “How your surroundings shape your life”.

For the initial 18 years of my life, I resided in my hometown, a tier-3 city. During those years, my aspirations ranged from joining the army to pursuing a career in hotel management. Not too shabby, right? But do you know where these aspirations stemmed from? My surroundings.

Now, let’s unpack what ‘surroundings’ really mean. Simply put, they’re the people you interact with and the places you frequent. You might argue that these are the individuals and spots we naturally gravitate toward. But here’s the kicker: Is your surroundings propelling you towards your goals?

After completing high school, I took a one-month break and headed to Mumbai, staying with my aunt and her family. I’d been to Mumbai a few times in my childhood, but this stint was different. I was thrilled about exploring new places in the city that, for many Indians, is like a dreamland. During my initial days, I met people discussing studying abroad and starting their own businesses. Surprisingly, after being with them, I started exploring new opportunities and ways to enhance myself. The catalyst? My surroundings.

I made a life-altering decision to pursue my bachelor’s degree in Mumbai, consequently altering my surroundings. Thankfully, I found myself among a group of motivated students in college. I genuinely miss those college days; they opened my eyes to various career prospects. Post-graduation, I chose to join a startup to learn the ropes of building products from scratch. It’s been a year working in this startup, meeting new people, and diving into new experiences — all because of change in my surroundings.

If you find yourself in a surrounding where personal growth seems stagnant, my advice? Break free from it. Whether it’s your workplace, your circle of friends, or places hindering your progress, consider moving on.

As a gift, here’s a line I cherish that helps me strive for improvement every day. You can use it too, kickstarting your day on a positive note:
“Today, I’ll be a better version of myself.”

And trust me, it works.

I’m not really good at writing, but I attempted to convey what I’m trying to say in this Medium post. I would love to have a conversation in the comment box. Thank you:)

--

--

Swaraj Patankar

Sharing life's mishaps and 'inspiring' tales that might make you wonder if I'm a cautionary tale or a motivational speaker in disguise.