RAIN AND STROM IN THE MIND

Indigolite
2 min readAug 3, 2023

The drizzling clouds and waving winds that softly slide over the flowers. The droplets are still thriving to reach the tunnel of flowers to wet their inner curves, crows and sparrows flapping their wings to accelerate and take off to their trees, the camera trying to focus the clouds moving against the wind, the wet clothes peg on the terrace with water dripping from them.A hot cup of tea with a spicy snack and a calm music in the headphones would add a cinematic feel to the scene.

Life needn’t be this calm and pleasant all the time. The sweaty faces rushing to board a local bus in the early morning traffic with the lunch bag hitting the knees while running. The rush to get a seat in a fully packed compartment of an electric train. All these may not be in a romantic way and too pleasing to visualise, but this is reality.

The pleasant side wasn’t cozy all the time in my head, the reality added a new dimension to the world for me. I wasn’t into too realistic consequences, but always was a “let it go” type. I never knew exactly what I wanted and stuff that would actually cheer me up. I started observing the things around me and trying to actually figure out the choices of others and made clear decisions on what I like and what I don’t. The prepared list was always ready in my mind during my teenage years to let me out in a different way among the groups. This gained me attention and so did I added things to list in my mind.

Later in my teens i did understand it needn’t always be different and things that pull you out of the group. The things that matter to me will be cheered by me and the things that bothers me should be kept far. The opinions of others actually don’t count in my happiness or making me low. This may be a part of growing and exposure to different people with different mind sets. Though it is easy now to put them together into words, the journey wasn’t this easy. The constant search for likes and dislikes had battles in the mind.

The two scenes in the starting narrates the exact battles in my mind I had. I now can romanticise the sweaty rush and rainy weather at the same time. It need not always be the things that others fantasize about, you could be moved on with the things that may not be stereotypically accepted for ages.

--

--