Photoshop: “The Mountain”

Erik Swartout
2 min readMay 15, 2017

--

In this blog I will walk you through a photoshop edit and why I did what I did. This edit involves combining two different places, but they are both in Mount Rainier National Park. The background image is from the Sunrise side of the mountain and the foreground is from a hike called High Rock.

  1. In this edit I wanted to combine two things I love: Mount Rainier and the Milky Way.
  2. This was the original image that I had to work with and decided to use a different location on Mount Rainier which had the Milky Way present.

3. The next step was to cut myself out and remove the shadow on the rocks because if I am turning day into night; there can’t be any shadows.

4. I then added the mountain portion of the image in the background to set the scene.

5. This is the most important step and crucial to making the two images look like they belong together. Using the sliders for exposure, saturation and brightness, I was able to simulate the foreground image as if it was taken during the night time.

6. Lastly, I added some final touches to bring the image together and provide a more cohesive look.

--

--

Erik Swartout

In this blog I will explore all things that involve video and photo: Editing, angles, story, etc.