Chennai

Swastikka Ramasubbu
4 min readApr 4, 2018
Marina

The dictionary defines “pride” as the feeling of deep pleasure and satisfaction from one’s achievements.I’m proud of my country, India. When India wins a cricket match, all hell break loose at home. When an Indian wins an Oscar, the zeal is almost palpable. Google defines “passion” as a strong and barely controllable emotion. An intense desire or enthusiasm for something. I’m over-the -top passionate about my city, Chennai. When the winning runs are hit by a Dinesh Karthik or when the Oscar is won by ARR, I’m just pumped and completely goose-bumped , someone at home would go like, “namma ooru” ..Namma ooru,Chennai. The beautiful-cum-rustic, fresh-cum-antic, hectic -cum-quaint , mad town-cum-temple town, safe-cum-wild, one hell of a beauty with its blemishes, is my humble abode , my home town, my world for 22 years, and the topic of this post.

Chennai central

I’m writing this as the Lufthansa bird cruises over Marina, glittering like a pearl in the moon light.

Marina.

One of the longest beaches in the world, and our very own backyard. The one stop where the sun sets and the bajji tastes like no where else. The wholesome Sunday outing for every 90s kid. The home of the pretentiously calm,deadly waves trickling over the gazillion…

--

--

Swastikka Ramasubbu

I write code.. I write words.. Some make sense to you. Some do only to me.