An Ode I Owed: A Poetic Journey

Author: Jishnu Venugopal

Swati Tanu
2 min readJul 5, 2024
Picture of the book.
An Ode I Owed

“Words you choose not to say, knowing my heart travels with you all the way.”

This book is a collection of 35 short poems on vast topics such as mental health, hope, society, love, trauma, courage, gratitude etc.

The picture of the book cover.
An Ode I Owed

The tone of the poems is satirical. Most of the poems are beginner-friendly, a couple of them might be a little tough but beautiful. Each poem highlights the perspectives to see things in a realistic way, which unfortunately is overlooked most of the time. I found the illustrations to be amazing.

One of the poems talks about how society decides to define others’ success on the basis of job title or salary and totally ignores the parameter called happiness or inner peace. It is a sad reality!

My favourite lines are from the poem “A Wry Glance”

“Not to hurt we say
Not to please per se

Is this ignorance?
Or is it from experience?

Well, I don’t want to debate
I find it quite hard to separate.”

You might like to check out more similar books here.

--

--

Swati Tanu

Author, book enthusiast and coder. Sharing captivating reads and insightful reviews. Instagram: @tanunest