Chhawi Prasad: How I Prepared for my Microsoft Coding Interview

SWE Careers
2 min readJul 16, 2020

--

Preparations: I started preparing for this internship around 6 months before I went through the process. I was focusing mainly on Data Structures, Algorithms, and Competitive Programming. There are various online platforms that helped me with this. I was regularly studying Data Structures on SWECareers.com. It covered almost every topic that was required. I was also solving some problems daily on SWECareers.com which helped me to reduce my code writing time and I was also able to write short and cleaner codes.

Internship test and interview process: So, I was all prepared to sit for an internship at Microsoft. The internship selection process was as follows- The first round was an online coding round. Time allotted was 2 hours and 4 questions were given to solve. I solved 3 out of them totally and partial test cases passed for 4th question. I was shortlisted for the interviews. There were 2 technical rounds where I was asked about coding related questions. I had to explain my algorithm and it’s time and space complexity etc. The 3rd round was HR round, where I was asked questions about my projects and some questions related to system design. Finally, I was shortlisted and offered an internship for the summer of 2020.

Use my discount code: “chhawi” for 10% off on SWECareers.com premium features where you can filter coding questions by the company.

--

--

SWE Careers

We help students ace their software engineering interviews.