What is Atom?

Patrick Sweetman
2 min readNov 10, 2018

--

Photo by Maik Jonietz on Unsplash

Atom is a text editor that I use to quickly create applications that I build for voice first. I’ve build PHP, react native, JavaScript and other web base languages using Atom text editor.

Atom is a text editor which is open source and provided by GitHub which is owned Now by Microsoft. it’s a developer alternative to using more basic text editors like notepad or notepad plus plus.
Unlike notepad plus plus and Notepad Adam provides additional benefits for developers like syntax-highlighting for specific code blocks and the ability to view the entire structure of your project so you can jump between files much more quickly than if you’re just editing on notepad in notepad plus plus.
There are other text editors such as Sublime and vs code. I originally downloaded Adam when I was sitting in one of my computer science classes at the Ohio State University. I have heard that VScode and Sublime each offer on benefits that can prove to be better for those specific use cases than Atom. I like Atom for its simplicity, its libraries and the fact that is owned and integrated with GitHub.

to get started using Adam head over to Atom.IO where you can find the download of atom text editor and get started coding today.

--

--

Patrick Sweetman

Founder @VoiceFirstTech | Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa Supporter| IoT, Voice, AI