FORESIGHT(2023): Summer Internship at Honeywell | Nitin Rohit |

--

1) Brief Introduction

My name is Nitin Rohit, I’m a third year undergraduate student of the department of Electrical Engineering enrolled in its Bachelor’s Program. My interest mostly inclines towards programming and embedded systems. I started coding from 11th standard and started CP from my first year.

2) How did you get into Honeywell? What was the selection procedure?

There were a total of three rounds, which I had to clear to get an internship at honeywell. The first round was a coding round which had moderate level three questions. The second round was a technical round where they asked programming and math questions along with my CV review. And the final round was the HR round where they asked the usual questions about my further plans.

3) How to prepare for them?

All companies which are recruiting for a software profile need a bare minimum of basic knowledge about Data structure and algorithms. So, I started learning the DSA from courses (websites and youtube videos) and once I had my basics clear, I moved to solving problems and giving contests on various platforms like cf and cc. I also had done some self projects to show the companies that I had prior knowledge on writing big codes.

4) What difficulties did you face while preparing for this Company/Profile? How did you overcome this problem?

I faced two major problems while preparing, first I couldn’t remember all the things which I studied and there was not any solid path to know all the stuff properly. To tackle the former problem I started writing down notes and reviewing them periodically. For the latter I watched a lot of youtube videos and came to know that we only need to focus on a few problems (and concepts) which are asked frequently, so start solving these questions more such that you have these concepts on your finger tips.

5) According to you, who should ideally apply for this job?

I haven’t completed my internship yet, so I can’t comment on that. But it is mostly for students who want to do software development. Honeywell being involved in multiple domains I believe, people have the freedom to choose from.

6) Any specific advice you want to give to the junta sitting for internships this year?

There are a lot of small, small skills which can be learnt in a short period of time which can be seen as a useful skill for the hiring companies, so try to learn them. Try to add projects which are specific to a particular domain, so that the person knows that you are progressing in a direction rather than moving randomly.

7) What are some of the major points you think would be valid to mention in your CV while targeting this profile?(any specific suggestions you would like to make?)

Know your CV, the first level of selection will be based on your CV. So your CV represents you, take time and get your CV reviewed from different people.

--

--

Student Welfare Group, IIT Kharagpur

We are the Student Welfare Group, a student body under the Office of Dean of Students’ Affairs and Technology Students’ Gymkhana, IIT Kharagpur.