Why I came back to India

Sujith Yankanaik
3 min readJan 3, 2018

--

The Mumbai Skyline

It’s the year 2018. I’m back in the United States for a short period of time. It’s been two years and change since i’ve been back in the States. Now that I am back home for a little while, it has made me reflect on why I made the decision to move to India in the first place.

Reconnecting with my roots

I was born in Bengaluru and spent the first eight years of my life between Bengaluru and Panaji. India was home until my parents and I moved across the world in 1998.

When my grandfather passed away in 2013, I felt like I lost the opportunity to be closer to him because I lived so far away from my family. So, when I was offered a job in India, I welcomed the opportunity to reconnect and build a relationship with my family there.

Global India with local issues

It’s no secret that India is becoming a stronger global economy and will be a significant contributor to the global market in the years to come. India has the right inputs (i.e. stable political climate, a large middle class, growing interest in entrepreneurship, young talent and etc.) but there are still several significant barriers for the country to take its place as a global economic powerhouse.

First of all, India has the world’s largest workforce. Studies have shown that India could have the largest working age population in as little as 2 years. At which point, 65 percent of the population will be under the age of 35. Education remains a huge concern within this demographic. A majority of them do not possess the adequate skills to compete in a global marketplace. India’s current and future workforce deserves quality education and needs it fast.

Secondly, of the students who graduate college, a majority of them do not graduate with the appropriate skills to contribute to India’s growth. Most graduates are getting degrees that are irrelevant to the field that they end up working in. India does not need more young people graduating from engineering colleges in the hopes of leaving the country. India needs young graduates who are committed to building a better India for today and tomorrow.

India needs change-makers

India does not need just engineers. India needs engineers, doctors, social workers, artists, architects, bureaucrats, construction workers and etc. India needs young change-makers. Change-makers who are smart, optimistic, resilient, committed, patient and passionate to give the country the development and nourishment it needs to become tomorrow’s global leader. Change-makers and experts need to come together to solve the country’s toughest challenges. I see myself as a change-maker and I see India as a land of opportunity for both Indians and Expats.

I am blessed to have an opportunity to contribute my knowledge and skills to causes that will be crucial to India’s development, which include education and skill development.

I came because I believe I can give something back to the country that I was born in.

I came because I believe in India’s potential.

These are my reasons. What’s yours?

If you are an expat living and working in India, please comment below on why you chose to come, would love to hear your stories!

--

--

Sujith Yankanaik

Expat american living in India. Passionate about Social Entrepreneurship in India and beyond.