Things to Pay Attention to after updating android studio version or cloning project (android) .

Muhammad Rifqi Syatria
2 min readApr 11, 2024

as beginner, i dont know what should i do after cloning a project or updating my android studio version. so, after cloning tflite template project from github, i got an error after completing gradle, i was sure that my gradle already finished but there is something error and make it not finished all yet, here my compilation solving this problem.

  1. Equalize version AGP with Gradle version

first , i got this error after compiling gradle :

Gradle: Execution failed for task ':mergeDebugAssets'.
> Could not call IncrementalTask.taskAction() on task ':mergeDebugAssets'

then, i got references from stack overflow, that my Android Gradle Plugin (AGP) not compatible to gradle version. So, i tried to update my android studio from hedgehog to iguana, and it still not fixed. and then, i try to open File -> Project Structure and i found that my agp still 7.2.1 while my gradle version 8.4.0. so yeah , after downgrading the gradle version to 8.0 , the projects work.

after changing gradle version

2. Equalize Java version project with Java in your device version

in my case, after asked to upgrade the java version from 1.8 to 11 , i got an error again that my project didnt meet the version. so i tried to change in my build.gradle(app) file from 1.8 to 11

after change from 1.8 to 11

--

--