Life’s Purpose: Why Am I Even Here?

Sydney Chiu
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
3 min readDec 24, 2018

--

The unanswered question that everyone’s searching for.

Photo by Mikito Tateisi on Unsplash

As a recent college graduate, I can already anticipate the impending quarter-life crisis. I’m still figuring out what my value-add is to the world. Three days after finishing school, I shut off all sources of technology and social media for 12 hours, in an attempt to decipher my life’s purpose. In the process, I generated these questions:

  1. What are your “can’t not”s?

Essentially what can’t you go a day without thinking about or doing? What do you itch and crave more than anything else? You feel off when you don’t do it but as soon as you do, everything in the world seems a little more in-place. For many people I know, that “can’t not” is photography. What is it for you?

2. When you start talking about __(fill in the blank)__, your closest friends roll their eyes and say “there they go again!” What is that subject or topic?

We have all been in those conversations where the other party’s eyes light up with passion and excitement and they start talking talking for hours on end as you slowly zone out and nod to feign understanding. When have you been on the other end? What can you talk about for hours?

3. Most people would love to trade lives with our boy Mark Zucks for a day. Who would you trade lives with

--

--

Sydney Chiu
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

keeping the promise to my eager-eyed, journal-obsessed 9-year-old self who dreamed of becoming a writer