Why am I not, “clickable”? Headlines, Revisised.

Sydney Kohm
2 min readFeb 26, 2018

--

Sometimes a headline only needs the right words to be a hit…..

https://news.northeastern.edu/2017/01/the-stories-that-are-likely-to-make-headlines-in-2017/

For this week’s blog post I revisited a blog post from a couple of weeks ago where I created 25 headlines about traveling in Springfield. To be honest, they weren’t great at the time so the instructions this week were to research how to make them more “clickable” in my words.

The first step I took was to look up what was trending online for traveling in Springfield. I did a couple of different searches and you can those results below vvvv

I looked up things like “Hot spots in Springfield Missouri.”

- What came up

o The best nightlife in Springfield

o The Best 10 Nightlife in Springfield, MO

o Things to do in Springfield, MO

o Nightclubs & Bars in Springfield, MO

o Fun Things to Do in Springfield MO

Searched again…. “What to do in Springfield, MO.”

- What came up

o Things to do in Springfield Missouri

o The 10 Best things to do in Springfield

o 16 Best things to do in Springfield, Missouri

o Things To Do in Springfield — Deals on Activities in Springfield

o 10 Fabulous Things to Do in Springfield Missouri

Here is a litte reflection on my old headlines that I took the information I learned from my search online to make create some new, better headlines.

1. Write two general knowledge-seeking headlines for your topic.

a. The 10 hottest spots in Springfield, Missouri according to the locals.

b. 10 Places in Springfield, Missouri for Young Millennials.

2. Write two purchase-related or call to action related headlines (e-commerce, someone wants to buy a product or service, wants to book a hotel, etc.) for your topic.

a. Want cheap fun in Springfield? Here are the best free attractions in Springfield, Missouri.

b. 7 Places to get the best coffee in Springfield, Missouri.

What did you learn from this assignment?

1. When writing things for Springfield Missouri there are a lot of Springfield’s in the USA so, you should include the whole title of the town in your headline because people will search the whole title.

2. Listicals were the most popular thing I saw or it was straight forward articles about come here to do this.

--

--

Sydney Kohm

Currently, Just working on improving my writing style and living life.