I took 15 interviews in 8 hours

Syeda Taqvi
5 min readFeb 11, 2024

Scheduling, questions, and personal experience…

Photo by Windows on Unsplash

I am the owner of a software development agency in its infancy, just one month old.

I am not a hiring manager. Neither am I a recruiter. I have no formal knowledge of human resources.

If you have had an experience or two about owning your own company, you will understand that for any new company, the owner has to fit in every shoe. Most agencies, like mine, start with the owner embodying the entire institution.

Until recently, I held the roles of Marketing Manager, Hiring Manager, Project Manager, and Account Manager. I was also the staff and all of the employees. I talk about my experience as a Project Manager in this post.

Why did I conduct the Interviews?

If the agency is to last, the owner has to disentangle themselves from the organization. The agency needs to evolve into an entity independent of its owner. This is where building automated processes through hiring capable people comes into play.

For my company to achieve independence, I recognized that I needed a professional Project Manager.

At that time I was convinced that this role would be the most important in the company. I still believe it to be true. The Project Manager in my…

--

--

Syeda Taqvi

Empowering startups by creating cost efficient web and mobile platforms