Visualizing My Experience

Syed Haider Ali Zia
3 min readFeb 3, 2023

--

Sun behind scattered clouds

Sun in the winter is a very pleasant blessing because the warmth of its rays soothes your body just like therapy. You wake up on a chilly January morning and the first thing you hope for is a bright sunny day. The urge increases if you had just taken a shower. It is very frustrating if the sun is like in the picture, behind scattered clouds, dim radiations and you wait impatiently for it to go full power.

I don’t know how good this analogy will be, but this picture reminds me of the start of my Amal journey some 3 months ago. My motivation to join Amal Academy was actually a session conducted by the Amal team in UET Taxila, which included former UETians and fellows of Amal sharing their amazing Amal journey along with the UET experience. That session just suddenly struck some thoughts in my mind that with a year left in my graduation and even having the technical skills I was somehow shadowed just like the sun in the picture.

I self-reflected at the moment and decided that I have to shine with full intensity in future and therefore I have to join the Amal Academy to improve on my weaknesses.

The application process was great I was honest and confident while answering the questions. I got selected for the initial interview which also went well, and the interviewer appreciated my passion to grow and improve.

Our journey started in the second week of November. At the start, I was a bit anxious and circumspect about what to expect. My 7th semester had started and the workload was also immense but I had made a pact to give at least an hour daily to my personal development through Amal courses.

I was happy at the thought of learning and meeting new people. As the session began on Saturday morning I saw new faces in front of me, our program manager Mam Hajrah was greeting us, everyone looking a little nervous but soon it just felt like home.

Amal family

Honestly, I was anxious to talk there in front of all those people and participate but again our facilitators reminded us that we all are here to improve ourselves nobody is perfect, and it’s a safe place for us so don't worry about saying something wrong. This gave me confidence and I felt easy afterwards.

In those first two weeks, I remember watching the online courses and learning so much new, different, and engaging, that I was enjoying those courses. I learnt how to navigate through my life by making a life map, setting my goals and following the Amal principle of progress. It was a very interesting experience.

Aaml principles of progress

So how to sum it up, it's hard because the journey had been amazing. I learnt so much more than expected, feeling a completely different person now, enlightened, and activated. My confidence is up the hill and the concepts of teamwork, leadership and problem-solving are engraved in my mind.

I have got to know amazing, talented people with different backgrounds and ambitions, loved working in groups, online sessions will be missed, Mam Hajrah and Sir Uzair were outstanding facilitators. I am leaving with a lot of memories that will be cherished.

Sun shining in clear skies

I just wish that I duly apply the skills learnt during my fellowship, act like a lifelong learner and shine with full intensity.

--

--

Syed Haider Ali Zia

I am a physics and philosophy student. I try to explore and understand existence and the universe in order to live a meaningful life.