3 Possible Reasons for Inaction (Part 1/3)

Syed Umar
2 min readJun 14, 2024

--

I realized 3 possible reasons for my inaction in the real world.

  1. Too much information consumption may lead to inaction.
  2. Absence of a strong emotional desire to accomplish worthwhile things.
  3. Absence of real necessity in the external world.

Let’s discuss in detail the first reason for inaction.

1. Too much information consumption may lead to inaction.

One of the possible reasons for my inaction is too much information consumption.

Although I have decreased my information consumption, this wasn’t me just six months ago. I used to consume a lot of content.

I watched videos on YouTube for more than 2 hours on a daily basis. The videos were mostly on history and current affairs.

Then, I would see the seasons on Netflix. First, I completed all seasons of the popular American sitcom Friends (the show was amazing, by the way).

Later, I started watching another sitcom named The Big Bang Theory (yes, the show is great).

Image by <a href=”https://pixabay.com/users/yousafbhutta-2933897/?utm_source=link-attribution&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=image&utm_content=7025900">yousafbhutta</a> from <a href=”https://pixabay.com//?utm_source=link-attribution&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=image&utm_content=7025900">Pixabay</a>

After Netflix, I used to spend my time on TikTok and Instagram. Overall, 6–7 hours were being spent daily on these activities.

After that, there wasn’t any motivation or energy left in me to perform my main work. That just kept on adding to my agitation.

I learned that the information consumption is very good after the main work. If it comes in the way of main work, then it will only do harm.

After realizing this, I started giving my preferred time to my main work. After the main work, I let myself enjoy these platforms.

The overall impact of this technique was profound because of the completion of the main work.

I just won’t feel any regret while spending my time on those platforms, as long as my main work is completed.

If you are also consuming too much information in a day, even the information that is very good but of no use, then this is a problem.

Do these two things to avoid too much information consumption.

  1. Prioritize your main work above anything else.
  2. Perform your main work as early as possible.

--

--