It’s the 21st day!

Syed Umar
2 min readJun 10, 2024

--

Photo by picjumbo.com: https://www.pexels.com/photo/person-holding-blue-ballpoint-pen-writing-in-notebook-210661/

Writing is a long journey, and I’m on that journey. I have published 30 articles on Medium. This is the 31st.

The first 10 articles were published in 2023. I was trying to be consistent in my writing. It was still an on-and-off adventure.

Fast forward to May 21, 2024, and I started publishing my writings again with the aim of publishing them daily.

It’s the 21st day since then and the 21st article.

There is reason I am emphasizing on this. Have you ever heard of the 21/90 rule? Don’t fret; I'll explain.

The 21/90 rule states that it takes 21 days to form a new habit and 90 days to make it a permanent lifestyle.

Although making it a permanent lifestyle is still far away, I have certainly come close to the automaticity point. Where a habit starts getting performed with less effort.

That’s the thing I want to celebrate and share.

The Next Step

I will not complicate my writing process. I shall continue publishing daily for the next 21 days. The target is to publish for 42 consecutive days.

Halfway is done; halfway is left.

The productivity I've gotten by publishing daily until now is very good but it’s still immature. There is a lot to publish on a consistent basis until it becomes a habit.

I have once wrote for 2 months straight but then lost my momentum. It's been almost 3 years since then, I haven’t been able to write consistently.

This is my chance. This is a golden chance to capitalize on what I have done in the past few weeks.

This time I have personal experience with how much it’s difficult to gain momentum back after losing it.

I know the value of discipline. I know the value of small steps. I know the power of process. I know the effects of the environment.

Photo by Jukan Tateisi on Unsplash

I am hopeful.

Things are easy.

But who knows…

"What is easy to do is also easy not to do.”

Let’s see what happens.

It would be interesting to watch.

--

--

Syed Umar
0 Followers

Writing freely, whatever comes in mind.