Why should you highlight books while reading?

Syed Umar
2 min readJun 19, 2024

--

The best thing you can get from a book is the knowledge you use to uplift the quality of your life.

What’s the second-best thing you can get from the books?

I would say that books in highlighted form are a real blessing after the knowledge acquired from the books.

Photo by Shashank Verma: https://www.pexels.com/photo/highlighter-and-books-on-desk-5192573/

The highlighted version is very good for reading the book for the second, third, and fourth time. It gives you a full understanding and revision of the book in less time.

I started reading heavily after my graduation (because of my decision to never stop learning my whole life).

I enjoyed reading books like The Compound Effect by Darren Hardy, The Magic of Thinking Big by David Schwartz, Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki, The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma, and Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill.

These books were full of wisdom. There were many life lessons in these books that were very striking. I wanted to highlight the lines, paragraphs, and pages that were worth reading again.

I was reading these books on my mobile device or sometimes on my laptop. After finding out how to highlight lines in Adobe Acrobat Reader, I started highlighting these books.

The interesting thing happened after I completed reading and highlighting these books.

After reading the full book for the first time, I just read the highlighted version of that book for the second time.

The interesting observation I experienced was that reading only the highlighted version gave me a full recap of the whole book. It felt as if you had read the whole book again.

I still feel the same. That’s why I still read the highlighted books (now mostly in epub format). When reading a book for the first time, I start highlighting if I find it interesting.

I must recommend that you highlight the books you really enjoy. Next time, it will be easier for you to skim through the whole book, and you will always feel like you have read the whole book in a very short time.

--

--