Dear Diary

Sylvia Lam
2 min readJun 4, 2015

--

This morning I donned my band shirt, these new black/grey jeans, and leather boots because of Mufti-Day today, I was so happy with my outfit. Mufti-day being one of those “this is the real me” opportunities at school.

I woke up early this time because Robb texted me he’d meet me at my house and drive me to school.

I was just finishing up breakfast when I heard a knock on the door. Robb was there, and his smile twisted really weirdly. He was looking at me up-and-down, like I was under inspection(?)He said something like I look like his boyfriend? Then he got really uncomfortable and acted like I just swore at him. I mean, like insulted by my clothes? The clothes on MY body?

He said, “that’s not what you’re wearing, right?” and I didn’t know what to say. I kind of just said sorry and went to change. I just felt so squashed by that 20 second-long conversation. I ended up picking something my cousin Katy handed down to me, this tight black dress. She’s one of those party/clubbing girls, and I guess this matches better what Robb’s friends wear, the girls anyway.

School was a total haze after that; I don’t even remember what happened. Just couldn’t get over how Robb made such a big deal of my clothes. Robb took me out shopping again after school, and bought me a whole gift box of expensive French make-up. He’s already buying me presents, so that’s nice. He must have liked the dress today then…

Maybe I should get used to wearing Katy’s shoes she gave me too

--

--