Korean bokk-eumbab (볶음밥)

Sylviallewis
3 min readMay 31, 2022

--

According to People magazine, he like Korean-style ginger fried rice (but I’m sure the wife would have benefited from some form of soup for her unexpected illness). His father used to do a lot of business in Korea when he was younger, so he was exposed to the food and fell in love with it. Enough to make him a goodwill ambassador for Seoul and a Korean fan favorite. Anyway, I came across this story in People today and decided to alter it slightly (by adding scrambled eggs and kimchi, Korea’s staple dish). It was a hit with the family, especially when served with a bean sprout banchan side dish I made for them. The recipe that follows is my adaptation of this delectable dish.

Korean fried kimchi rice

This dish is incredible, and super tasty, even if it is basic. It’s a simple dish with a lot of flavors, and Koreans enjoy it. This variation is straightforward, but you may add some beef or pork to make it more interesting. I shared a variation of this recipe a few years ago that used leftover sauce and drippings from a simple form of bulgogi, but it didn’t include a video. I eventually prepared a video for more conventional bulgogi, and now I’ve done the same with kimchi bokk-eumbap. Many Koreans prefer to top theirs with a fried egg, but my family prefers to keep things simple. Visits with my kid in the dorms were rare when he was at school. I anticipated that I’d require some assistance. I buy the Jongga kimchi from the Korean grocery to make the fried rice from it and it is so tasty the rice also I do not have enough time to make this food from un prepped matters so I buy the hatban Korean rice from the Korean grocery with jongga kimchi and go home and make it fast and it is in Korean called the mixed rice which is that putting rice and kimchi and eggs it should be fried egg.

korean kimchi

“I miss kimchi bokkeumbap,” he said, despite having time to prepare and shop ahead of time. What? Is that it? Is there anything more I should know? Mom, it’s just kimchi bokkeumbap.
If you have kimchi and rice on hand, you don’t need to prepare much in advance for kimchi bokkeumbap, as you’ve read in this blog. So I made it for him, along with grilled steak and plenty of other high-protein foods. I was ready to stir cook as soon as he got home. Kimchi Fried Rice: A Step-by-Step Guide (Kimchi Bokkeumbap)
Kimchi Fried Rice is by far the most basic kimchi meal. Rice is an important component of our Asian culture, and fried rice is just one of a thousand different ways to spice up a rice recipe. Kimchi Fried Rice recipes are becoming increasingly popular as fusion cuisine becomes more popular. There are a plethora of kimchi fried rice recipes to choose from. But today, I’m going to show you how to make my favorite kimchi fried rice. But first, I’d like to share some information with you.
Leftover rice tastes great with kimchi fried rice. Because the rice is a little drier than newly cooked rice, it absorbs the sauce better while yet being chewy.
There is a special ingredient that distinguishes kimchi fried rice from regular fried rice. The secret ingredient, aside from Kimchi, is Gochujang. Gochujang is a Korean chilli paste that can be obtained in our local supermarkets, such as NTUC, Cold Storage, and Sheng Shiong. For those who despise Don’t be concerned about the spice. With a hint of spice, gochujang has a sweet basis.

--

--