Evening of Poetry and Music: Up close and personal with Maryam and Zul

Symbal
4 min readApr 7, 2015

--

By Alisa Maya Ravindran

Photos by Lim Min Zhang

Here’s part two of us getting up close and personal with the musical performers at EPM to find out why music makes them tick and how they write their own songs : Presenting to you Maryam and Zul.

1) How did your band come to be?

Maryam: In all honesty, we don’t actually even identify as a band yet, because we only really played together for the first time at the EPM! We’ve each done quite a few gigs with others, but never together. Zul is my person, and I am his; we’ve been partners in just about everything else for quite some time now. We both love music and have always dreamt of being able to make music with a better half (even though we’re not quite the greatest technical musicians). So when Nigel invited me to perform at the EPM, I was quick to rope Zul in. We’d actually roped in two other guitarists as well, but they had to cancel at the last minute, so we were left as a duo! Not that we’re complaining, of course. It’s an amazing experience, making music with someone you love.

(Zul adds: “LOVE.”)

2) Who are your greatest musical influences?

Maryam: I don’t think we’ve actually got any specific musical influences at this point in time. When we jam, we simply jam to music we both like. There isn’t really even a single genre of music we are more inclined to. We love rock, we love punk, we love folk. We love, love music that showcase alternative sounds. We’ve both got a great affinity for songs with good lyrics (although, of course, what ‘good’ means is quite subjective) i.e. that really tug at our heartstrings. As a percussionist, Zul is more drawn towards interesting rhythms and beats. As a vocalist and a lyricist, I’m more inclined towards songs that showcase vocals. I think more than anything, we love music that tells stories. If a song tells a great story and tells it well, then we’re all over it. That’s probably why we both really love PVRIS.

(Zul adds: “And all my alternative punk bands!” — I think he’s referring to the likes of Circa Survive).

3) We noticed you performed an original song at EPM, do you often write your own songs?

Maryam: I write songs when I feel like it and I haven’t felt like writing songs for a very long time now. So the short answer is no. I tend to write when its quiet, when I actually have the time to spare, and when I have something to write about. Like I said, for me, music is all about telling stories. I do actually have plenty of stories to write about now and have two half-written songs in the works. But music is not just about telling stories, but telling them well and I simply haven’t had the time to do that yet. When final year blows over, I expect I’ll be more productive. I also expect I’ll be writing quite a few with Zul.

(Zul adds: “I nod in contemplative silence.”)

4) What are your hopes for the band in the future?

Maryam: We don’t actually plan on taking our music anywhere. We are not great musicians, so our music is just a hobby and it tends to be very self-indulgent. We enjoy being able to make music together far more than being able to share that music with the world. So I guess our hopes for the band are technically the same as our hopes for ourselves as partners. We’re not sure if the audience would agree, but we truly believe that — objectively — we play very well together; he knows exactly what stories I’d like to tell, and I know exactly what stories he’d like to tell. If there’s anything we’re hoping for and would like to continue working towards, it’s that we’ll continue to know and understand each other inside and out.

(Zul adds: “Our band name is BASPA.”)

5) What did you think of EPM?

Maryam: It was great! The works showcased were really impressive and the other musical acts were, well, right up there. We’re really grateful to have been invited to perform alongside those acts and for such a supportive audience, too!

6) What do you think of the music scene in Singapore?

Maryam: It’s very, very promising! So much of it is so original and very enjoyable. It’s so great that you can just walk into most cafes / bars now and catch so many great acts. And the opportunities (!!) — if there was ever a time to consider starting a music career, it’s now. Just like almost everything else in life, if you put your heart and mind to it, it’s yours for the taking. Our favourite local acts include alternative band sub:shaman, indie punk band Take Two, our dear friend Lou Peixin and her very talented Daniel Chia (check them all out!).

--

--

Symbal

Literary magazine by NUS Literary Society. We accept submissions from students of local tertiary institutions and NSFs. symbalmagazine@gmail.com