Church vs Club

Tarila Ajuesi
6 min readApr 24, 2024

--

My birthday is in June and I am really looking forward to it

Before I continue, I’m grateful to God that I’m at this point where my birthday doesn’t make me think too much about my life anymore

I was hoping to throw a party to the place that my money can reach but my friends in Lagos will beat me up. So I’ll just do something small with my guys here.

Why do people complain that the club is loud when the church is louder?

I don’t know what a club is like but why exactly will I endure that kind of noise? It’s not adding anything to me.

Anyhoo, I can imagine you wondering why I will endure the noise in church too — but everyone to his own abi how dem dey talk am

I really want to start crocheting again. Just for the sake of it

Photo by Imani on Unsplash

I’m such an artsy person and I’m not sure how to feel about how I take up skills and drop them. I went through a crochet phase in primary/junior secondary school, I’m not sure now. And of course I was good

Then I stopped. Don’t ask me why, I don’t know as well

I also went through a phase of bead making, learned from my aunt who was learning at a crafts school then.

I used to draw as well

Amazing stuff

I used to make hair and even did for money

Then the most recent skill I acquired was during COVID and that was sewing. And as you can guess, I sewed fire!!! Ask my mummy. She wore the dresses I made to Owambes (for them to be Owambe worthy, that just means I’m good)

I made this dress.

Now, I want to relearn crocheting

I started learning to draw again but I feel like it requires too many senses- with crocheting however, I should be able to see a movie while at it

Let’s see how that goes

My recent drawing! There are several others but I no snap am

Also need to mention that in those days, these skills weren’t as expensive. Now, I just dey wonder how much dem go sell crochet pin😭😭😭

In any altercation, the person telling the story often looks righteous until you hear the other POV

Post rounds is not small work

I used to think it is, but it isn’t

Then clinic which is right after my call was super crazy because of the public holiday. So we wanted to die because of small public holiday 😭😭😭😭

Small public holiday oh. Wahala be like doctor

Then there’s me happily spending my last 5k regardless of my brokenness and because I wanted food

After our clinical meeting, the case was so fascinating that the HOD had to say:

‘if not that we went to medical school, won’t we say this is spiritual?’

This statement is true. But a few responses I got got me thinking and reminded me of a conversation I had with a colleague a while back.

Interrogate your faith.

You are a Christian, so what?

You believe in God, so what?

I am inclined to tell you what I believe in because it’s what I believe in. I am sure that you are wrong, but that’s no reason to strong arm you into agreeing with me.

I’d rather have a conversation about your beliefs and share mine rather than impose. Then I’ll pray to God to do the rest.

Someone said Christians have a superiority complex, and yurrrrr. I absolutely do! You should too. Why not? You serve a proactive God who knew from the start that you would mess up — -

That conversation I had was about this. If God knew you would mess up, did we really have free will. But an example someone told me when I asked my friend was. Imagine you are madly in love with someone but the person does not love you back. Will you force them? You’d allow them to make their decision and hope they do not regret it

Now back to what I was saying-- God was proactive, He made plans for our salvation ahead of time and that’s Jesus dying on the cross for us. He knows that no matter what we do, we cannot live a sinless life by ourselves, hence the Holy Spirit.

As I write this, I am praying for the heart of my reader. I pray that you understand, that you are open to learning more about Jesus. That’s my prayer for you.

I believe Jesus saves.

It’s beyond being a good person, there’s a lot more.

So as I was saying, the fact that I believe in this, does not mean other people do not have a right to believe what they believe in and propagate it. I should not be angry because someone does not believe in the same things I believe in. That’s how we get to get things to talk about and it also helps me interrogate my faith better and learn more about it

So if you are that person that gets annoyed because others do not believe what you believe in, rest. No need to get angry. Just work on being able to defend what you believe in, communicate it (need to actively work on this), and leave the rest for God.

Jesus loves you, sho gbo?

My pastor summed this thing up for me in a way I like: ‘we subconsciously want to fight that what we have is better than what others have’

Giving iPhone vs Android

A student nurse gave IV PCM without diluting well and tissued my patient’s line. That was so annoying 😭😭😭😭.

I’m finishing this posting soon and I’m so glad I enjoyed it to the fullest. My goal for this house job was to enjoy the process as much as possible and I am glad I am doing that

Surgery was sweet, internal medicine was sweet

Of course each had its cutthroat moments but I am happy

I love that I had some time to myself in this unit especially when we had a low patient load

Absolutely good for me

I’ve definitely underestimated how great it is that we receive food daily in this place. It has helped me to not think about food. These days that I’ve had to be thinking of food, I’ve not been eating well. I’m suffering 😭😭😭

Tone of writing. You will try but people will interpret anything typed the way they want it to be . I don’t think it’s on purpose tho. You know how you imagine what a writer is trying to say when you read a novel

Posted this again because this shoe wanted to injure me that day. Had to remove it to rejoice. Then I put it back on to do fine girl

This post has been in my drafts for too long

See you soon soon!!!

--

--