I don carry Yoruba chop bole😭😭😭

Tarila Ajuesi
5 min readMar 3, 2024

--

We do so many extracurricular activities in this unit and I’m left wondering if it’s part of my job description. Just that everything is for the good of the land.

They are hawking pizza in the quarters. It’s so funny

Photo by Pablo Pacheco on Unsplash

Buy your hot pizza

Your sweet and hot pizza

Your Domino’s Pizza

Buy for your girlfriend

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

Who to buy me pizza like this?

Avatar: The Last Airbender

Watched Netflix’s ATLA live action and many thoughts. As usual, I watched with an open mind and then went to look for everything wrong with the movie.

Initial thoughts: the casting was almost perfect. Aang, Sokka, Uncle Iroh

Zuko’s face wasn’t giving. But the angst and everything was there.

Soma’s character development was also not there. He was having sense from the beginning. Aang was also being all responsible from the start, they altered our goofball.

As usual, it’s Netflix so one has to pray against them using their agenda to spoil the movie. They did.

Patients drama

One of my patients needs constant oxygen as part of his management and of course, this is Nigeria and funds is a big issue. One of my consultants has some indigent funds with her and gives it to patients that need them (thank God for people who do this, it’s important and as a broke doctor that has to watch, it is much appreciated)

So what made me start all these talk. This my patient’s sister turns off the oxygen to manage it 😭😭😭😭. You will get to patient’s bedside and see oxygen saturation of 56% (normal is >94%)

I go just weak. I understand but please stahhhhppppppp😭😭😭😭😭

I explained the first time, she still did it again. Ma, don’t you understand 😂😂😂😂. She has stopped now sha. And we’ve handed him over.

Also, a big shout out to the people that give the team funds for indigent patients. God will continue to replenish them.

I don’t ever want to get to the point where I belittle any pain a patient has. I want to always acknowledge that people have different pain thresholds and act accordingly.

Do you ever leave people to their foolishness and wonder if some people also leave you to your foolishness 😂😂😂

I’ve used all the Yoruba I can speak to eat bole😭😭😭. My Yoruba is not sweet again. I’m speaking Yoruba like an IJGB. Only 4 months in PH oh😭😭

Even though sha. I identify as a polyglot- I speak English, Ijaw, and Yoruba. After me, na me. I’m even supposed to add pidgin there sef

Again, that BCG vaccine that wanted to injure me better be effective. Only God knows what I’ve been exposed to in this work😭😭😭😭

Ogun kill you there (not you please)

‘Ogun kill you there’ being a prevailing insult here is so funny to me😂😂😂😂

My dad used to say it our language and I used to wonder why an Ijaw person says it

But it appears Ogun is not related to Yorubas only

I have fine fine chiefs

If I enter my chiefs wardrobes ehn, I go just pack plenty fine fine clothes and wigs. I know it’s giving junior sister vibes but my chiefs dress so fancy with fine hairs and stuff.

And they are good good! As per, they know their onions (I need to have a word with the person that thought this was a great idiom)

lol

Me becoming a cardiologist after telling anyone who will listen that I will not do clinical medicine

On specializing, every specialty looks glamorous. Everyone has great things to say about their specialty. This is why you should also choose to do great wherever you decide to stay. Don’t feel bad if you can’t do everything, the one you’ve decided to do, be awesome at it!

Garri

All the garri I’ve had in this place are not sweet. They taste bland.

This made me remember someone saying I’m always complaining about PH. Tbh, I love it here. I’m just not living to the fullest it can get. But I’ll still do my best to enjoy myself.

These days, I watch movies without feeling bad. That’s funny. I’m not used to having time like that. But I do now. And I love it.

It’s either I take jokes too well or I don’t take jokes well at all. Some tiny tiny jokes annoy me while sometimes I no dey even see am at all

I really like that Apostle Paul explains the OT. He breaks it down and just shows you all the things hiding in the Old Testament. Gosh. What a man!

Short sleeved ward coats look hilarious

I recently realized that I do love my job.

Also, I might be getting to the god level of choosing what influences me. There was a time I picked up a behavioral trait I had to work very hard to stop just because I lived with someone for about three months or so. But now, I don dey get coconut head too.

I’m ready to fight anyone with unnecessary consults this week. 😭😭😭

Also, it’s my first and possibly only weekend call in this unit. Pray for me abeg.

My hair is not your mate

You dey whine shrinkage 😭😭

See fine hair like this

Also, the compliments on my hair color ehn. I keep remembering how I did not like it initially 😂😂. But the color is aging well. It’s giving aging like fine wine😂😂😂

No, idk what color it was, they did mistake😭😭😭. But that mistake is becoming beauty. Thank You, Jesus

another picture because my hair fine die!!!!

Also, it’s to be carrying twists or all back because the prize of weaves will not send me back to my village😂😂😂😂

I feel like I still have a lot to say that I did not remember to put here.

Oh well.

full fit! Fake Gen Z😭😭😭. But I dey try.

--

--

Tarila Ajuesi

On a new journey. Here to share how its going 🥴