Open to work

Tarila Ajuesi
4 min readNov 29, 2023

--

Being on the ward is like saying I’m open to work. Work will definitely find you. The longer you stay, the higher the likelihood of a patient relative meeting you and asking for something, then your patient’s line will tissue. One patient will be in acute pain

It never ends

I feel like having an hangout with friends. But I no too fit plan like that

The things I hear🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

This chief in A/E said 'do you want me to lay hands on her?'
Backstory, a patient came to the A/E and had not gotten any necessary materials to be attended to and they were hassling her to treat the patient🤣🤣🤣

I had another m 48hrs call, again
My head dey always attract work

Was called for a gunshot injury at 12:30am and I got to A/E and saw many uniformed men, hefty, big
Osenobua in my partner’s voice

Me that I'm small like this

The casualty officers kept asking for my seniors and I could not help but wonder what their presence would achieve at that point since these people have not done everything we needed them to. That was one wild night man. I was just laughing in my mind

Sha sha, we made it to theatre and 7 pints of blood later, the patient made it, thank You God. My friends saw my name in the blood bank and had to ask that who is drinking blood🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

I made so many trips to the blood bank that morning.

Make people no dey play with gun again abeg

The more you do, the more confident you get.

Passed NG tube more confidently without help. Yay me! (Passed more after writing this because na me nau)

This is to say, don’t shy away from doing something because you don’t know how to or because you are scared of doing it wrong. That is why you have supervision. Do it anyway. No dey fear.

I lost a patient I had gotten somewhat close to, I cried, a lot.
Idk if experiencing deaths will get any easier. I met someone with her name a while after and my eyes filled with tears again.

Oh man. Deep deep sigh

Lost another patient the next day.

Again, I’m not sure it will get better or maybe I’ll get numb to it.

I randomly think of them and sigh.

I had a very hectic week. The calls were too dramatic, gosh. And even when they were no calls, e still choke

I'll be leaving general surgery team A soon and I think I'll miss my chiefs the most. They've spoilt me for other units I'll go to because they've set such a high standard for what senior colleagues should be like.

My chiefs are so cool, and they know their stuff. I look forward to having that confidence with which they approach situations.

I’ll miss my chiefssssssss😭😭😭😭😭😭

Glad my last 48 hours call in the unit was relatively chill. It was almost unbelievable. Omo, those calls were busy busy abeg

I have a lot to say, but too little energy. I honestly just want to sleep.

I always want to sleep. On some days, I chose sleep over food. I calculate how long it’ll take me to eat and just sleep instead

I'm playing with the idea of having guest posts on how house job is going for you, let me know if you'd like to share. I'll have to really make time to see how Medium works with guest posts

I want a Christmas hangout outside this environment so bad. I really hope I get to attend one.

I’ve been attending concerts in Lagos virtually and I’m thankful for everyone that takes their time to make videos when having fun. Thank you! I’m living vicariously through you.

I can’t believe I’ll be missing Reboot camp. Omo, this one pain me I no fit lie. Wahala for who dey do doctor work.

I’m grateful for my friends. I’ve been in some conversations these days that I’ve not had in a long time because me and my friends have like minds, now I have to be finding a way to not find myself there and stick to a few friends. But yeah, life right?

Found out recently that POTUS means President Of The United States. Lol, who would have thought? Not me

Association of Resident Doctors (ARD) elections is coming up soon and the campaign just choke. Everybody just dey campaign campaign

Lol, have you seen the way I'm writing more often in pidgin? PH babe loading🤣🤣🤣

Your favourite red haired doctor✌️

People look at me and try to choose whether I'm irresponsible or I know what I'm doing. Then when they see how hardworking I am, they become my fans

Red😍😍

My hair be making me easy to identify everywhere 😅🤣🤣

If I were in Lagos, people would just know where I trained by my hair colour.🤣🤣🤣🤣

I don’t have any deep story about why my hair is coloured. I wanted to and I did. Maybe a deep reason will come up later.

Again, phone call anxiety na your mate

I’ve still not eaten amala, hmmm

See ya next time!

--

--