Working in a coworking center

Thomas Guillet
3 min readJun 2, 2020

--

Since 9 months and my new life in Belgium, I work most of the time in a coworking center : “Manistal Coworking” in Brussels.

The big room at the entry with 2 sofas

For me, it was a discovery and i think it’s a good compromise between remote working and office working. Personally, this work environment match to my personality. I can work alone, with my music and when i want to discuss with an other coworker, i can do this. For me, a coworking space is a place where “you can be alone wihout be alone”.

I just come back at the coworking space after two months of remote working at my appartment. The come back is for me a breath of fresh air, a way of re-socialization.

At the beginning of my new life in Belgium , it was a good start to meet new people after leave all my friends, my family, my previous colleagues in France. Here, people come from Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Nederlands… so the multiculturalism (one of the most important particularity in Brussels) is present and it’s very enriching to learn from new cultures, ways of living.

Manistal is a real community, a family where you meet and welcome new coworkers each week. There are different formulas so each person is not here each day and a good thing is that the coworking space is not “full”. You have your own liberty inside while respect somes rules.

The flexibility of the office

One of the big advantages of this coworking space is his flexiblity. For example, i work most of the time on a same desk but it’s not mine and when i want, i can work sometimes on a sofa, sometimes near a plant in the kitchen and for the calls, interviews or meetings, there are the “rooms” (we have just to book a slot) and two insulation boxes. Moving in the coworking center is easy and essential for me to refresh my brain and have new ideas…

The environment

I love the atmosphere, the architecture and the design of “Manistal” coworking. There is a lot of greenery, a lot of space to move between the different places. The atmosphere is very “chill”.

The kitchen & the living room
4 others pictures of different places inside Manistal coworking

The activities & webinars

One thursday per month, we have an afterwork. It’s a good time to be relax, meet and discuss in an informal way with others coworkers… We can share a drink, eat food, play babyfoot, listen some music on the bluetooth speaker… In the future and when the situation will be better, we plan to dedicate each afterwork to a special thing, for example the preparation of mojitos, and organize some activities like “escape games” outside work.

Some webinars are also organized each month about business, psychology… open to everyone (not only the coworkers). It’s a good way to learn new things, enriching your skills and open your mind.

Bonus : the viennoiseries

One of my favourite thing is to eat as much as i want the viennoiseries prepared by the family who manage the coworking space. I’m a food lover, especially for the desserts so i found a paradise about that here.

To finish, i just want to say that I love Manistal and people i met there ❤

--

--