I regret not attending the Women’s March

Tyler Hedrick
2 min readJan 22, 2017

--

I don’t even have a reasonable excuse for why I didn’t go — I just didn’t. I knew it was happening, I even marked myself “interested” on the Facebook event. I don’t like big crowds, but I’m not afraid of them either. Instead, I went out for dinner and saw a comedy show with friends. Some of those friends attended the march before they came to dinner.

Sometimes I try to pretend horrible things aren’t happening. I engross myself in a video game, or a tv show, and just shut out what is happening outside of that. Then I go on the shitstorm that is Twitter, and become depressed all over again. This morning was different though. I went on Twitter and I saw hope. I saw women and men marching for what they believe in, in opposition of the orange-faced dingus who somehow got the keys to the White House. I saw friends and loved ones speaking out for themselves and their sisters, and it filled me with joy and with courage. I wish I had been there to support them too, to feel the energy that must have been there, and to add my voice to everyone saying “this is not ok”.

First I would like to say I’m sorry to all the women in my life — I should have been there for you, like you are there for me. I understand if you can’t forgive me. But, this isn’t about me, so more importantly I want to say how proud I am of everyone I know that marched and added their voice to this movement. You inspire me and fill me with hope every single day, and I wouldn’t be who I am today without all of you in my life. So, thank you. Thank you so much for everything you do, it definitely does not go unnoticed.

Here’s my favorite sign / tweet from the event

As part of my New Year’s resolutions, I have set out on a goal of publishing at least one post on Medium each week. I hope you enjoyed this week’s writing, and thank you for reading.

--

--

Tyler Hedrick

iOS Software Engineer at Airbnb. Previously at Medium, Facebook. Music | Coffee | Code