What Is A Grimoire Of Self?

Using Ritual And Focus As A Healing Practice

Tabitha Low
3 min readMay 17, 2022
Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

What exactly is a Grimoire? That depends on who you are, what you study, and what you use it for. The typical definition for a Grimoire is a book of magic. For many, it is a tome full of spellwork, incantations, and invocations.

There are other definitions that call it a magical text, a book of instruction, or a learning tool.

For my purposes, a Grimoire is a working text where you do the work to create the magic. The ‘magic’ does not have to be witchcrafting or wizardry or anything of that nature. In my work, I work in a book I call the Grimoire of Self.

In this Grimoire, I do all sorts of work. I ask myself questions, for example, ‘Who am I?’ and I work through that question. Sometimes I work on the same questions many times. I respond using words, colors, shapes, or whatever feels right to me. This book is more than a journal or a diary because the intention behind it is different.

I do not open this journal with the intention of writing through a brain dump. I will open it if I am working through some situation and I need my unconscious and/or subconscious to come together and help me find a way through things. I come to this journal as a sacred space where I work in a state of relaxed Focus. I light a candle. I light…

--

--