Almond Scones

Table Scraps
2 min readAug 6, 2020

--

I’ve always hated scones. Never been offered one that wasn’t dry. Devoid of moisture, and life. But I heard recently that homemade scones, from scratch, were an entirely different story. So, looking for something new to try, I decided upon almond scones.

A lot goes into an almond scone. Specifically 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1 tablespoon baking powder, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda, 1/3 cup granulated sugar, 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, 1 stick unsalted butter, 1 egg, 3/4 cup buttermilk, 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract, 1/2 teaspoon pure almond extract, and almond paste.

A couple notes on the recipe*. I keep finding that if the dough I’m working with is too wet, you can add small amounts of flour until it’s easier to work with. And considering the dough might still try to stick to you and the prep surface, a bench scraper makes the lifting/folding/rolling you have to do a lot easier. Also, best to bake scones on parchment paper. There’s apparently no substitute. Directly on a baking sheet greased with cooking spray? Bottom starts to burn. On top of foil coated with melted butter? Bottom starts to burn.

Today was the day I attempted to learn how to slice almonds as well. I’m pretty sure I understand how blanching an almond works, but slicing will have to come another day. Eventually I decided to put some almonds in a plastic bag, break them up with a meat tenderizer, and sprinkle the broken pieces over the egg washed scones before placing in the oven.

I also had some leftover dough after removing some excess with a bench scraper, so I made little mini scones as well.

Make your own:
Almond Scones*

Recipes used in the meal above accompanied by an asterisk *.

https://www.instagram.com/tablescrapscooking/

--

--

Table Scraps

Meals made with re-contextualized leftovers, experiments with ingredient combinations, and attempts to learn new recipes as well. Mostly unhealthy.