Breakfast Burrito (with Pan Pizza Leftovers)

Table Scraps
2 min readAug 1, 2020

--

I’ve never made a burrito before, but I’ve always wanted to. I wasn’t sure I could make the fold happen the way it needs to, to hold together. To look right. But not knowing what else to do with the leftover caramelized onion and sautéed mushrooms from yesterday’s pan pizzas, I decided to make a breakfast burrito with the tortilla I had on hand.

Started by frying two strips of bacon in a wide pan. Just to the point where the bacon was barely browning, and there was enough bacon fat in the pan to cook with. Pushed the bacon off to one side, and cracked an egg into the other, mixing the yolk into the white. From there I added the onion and mushroom into their own lines, parallel to the egg and bacon. I also added a little diced spring onion.

Once the egg had cooked through enough but was still soft, I moved each ingredient line together, and lightly chopped together. Removed the bacon from the pan, tore into chunks with my hand, and placed back. After everything cooked together for half a minute, I cracked another egg on top, mixing yolk with white, and then flipped everything so the top could cook. At this point, it looked like a messy omelette.

While the pan side cooked, I added a mix of cheddar and mozzarella to the top, and placed a cover over the pan so the internal heat would melt the cheese. Once that was nearly done, I softened the tortilla in the microwave for twenty seconds.

Placed the messy omelette on one side of the soft tortilla, drizzled a little salsa verde stripe on top, and folded. After the fold was complete, and I knew it would stick, I placed the burrito back into the pan, medium low heat, fold side down, and weighed it down on the heat with another pan. After that side was golden brown, I flipped the burrito over, and repeated the process until similarly golden brown.

Of all the things I’ve cooked so far, as good as everything else has looked or tasted, this is the only meal I can describe as perfect.

https://www.instagram.com/tablescrapscooking/

--

--

Table Scraps

Meals made with re-contextualized leftovers, experiments with ingredient combinations, and attempts to learn new recipes as well. Mostly unhealthy.