Fallen Blue Knight

Tactical Blue
3 min readMay 10, 2019

--

Blue Knights International

Yesterday, I was traveling to complete some administrative commitments when I encountered one of the worst traffic crashes in my career. Although the scene wasn’t something I was looking forward in my career, I have to say it was a bittersweet moment. Let me explain why.

Last Saturday, I met an awesome group of people who were in Austin, Texas for the 18th Annual Ride For The Fallen. The treasurer of the Blue Knights Texas IV- San Antonio Chapter talked to me about a funny story about his grandkid. I asked him for a photograph of his family for the video I was going to edit for Tactical Blue.

He agreed, and I photographed his wife, grandson, and him while all of them wore the Blue Knights vest and emblems.

As I said before, I was on the highway traveling to complete the task when I observed an unusual scene on the other side of the proper lanes. Unfortunately, a collision happened between a motorcycle group and a tractor-trailer. I stopped my patrol vehicle, turned on my emergency lights and asked dispatch for EMS and other units.

I ran across the median, even though it was muddy. I just happened to be the first emergency responder at the scene.

I won’t go in detail about the accident for respect to the family. However, I have to say I don’t want anyone to go through this type of incidents, ever!

The Blue Knights were on their way to the Rio Grande Conference in Tyler, TX. The accident just happened right before I happened to be traveling by. Later I stopped to think, was it just a coincidence I met this group a few days ago or destiny?

Anyways, one of their members didn’t make it. I felt sorry about the incident. Mr. Raul Granby lost his life, his wife, Sue, was taken to a local hospital where she was treated.

While processing the scene, I observed the member I took a picture of his family and him. He was one of the riders of the group, then I learned Raul was a retired police officer out of California.

Later that night, another friend of mine send me the link to the Blue Knights Facebook page with more information about Raul. On the page, the post read, “Raul was an honorably retired officer from the Long Beach, CA PD. He was good man and always in great spirits. We will miss him.”

Raul Granby-Retired Police Officer

Sometimes you might encounter people randomly or by coincidence. I believe this time wasn’t just by chance I was there for my fellow brothers and sisters in blue.

To be honest, I was going to leave the administrative task for the end of the day (like I always procrastinate for any admin stuff). Nevertheless, I decided to hop in my patrol car and take care of it then.

No matter what was the outcome of this incident, I would like all of you who ride to be safe and watch your six. Some accidents might not be unavoidable. However, some can be prevented using common sense and safety.

For the family of the fallen retired officer, we pray for you to find the peace you need in this moment of sorrow.

Please Stay Safe!

--

--

Tactical Blue

Why I Created Tactical Blue? Tactical Blue was made for Law Enforcement professionals, enthusiast and for whoever is willing to learn more about our calling