My Plan to Write a Book.

The Journey of Self-Discipline and Balance.

Yutaka Mizuno
5 min readJun 27, 2024
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

Medium plus KDP.

This is the plan for my self-publishing book. I’ve realized relying only on Medium.com is risky. It is not profitable even if you post there a lot. On the contrary, although the KDP journey is hard to maintain, incomes are high and relatively steady. Therefore, I need to change my mind and switch to the previous plan in which I scheduled to write a book about my self-discipline. However, I will not quit writing posts on Medium because I love it, but I’ll reduce my posts from three times a week to once a week. This way, it will be reasonable to maintain the frequency of both.

I remember my previous work last year, where I managed to write fiction novels and blogs. However, writing novels for KDP and non-fiction once a week on Medium felt contradictory. Switching my mind to non-fiction is quite difficult after striving to write fiction, so I often miss writing blog posts. This time, I will be careful about my mood when writing. I’ll focus on crafting non-fiction and limit my novels to Japanese. Stopping writing novels is not an option because I am always gloomy and imagine the stories when leaving from writing novels. Even spending just an hour on novels, I will be satisfied with my need to live with my characters. Managing my time this way can help…

--

--

Yutaka Mizuno

Writer and Blogger. I write about religions, spirituality, and Japanese culture.