When I finally breathe again, it will be together with you.

TK
2 min readMay 7, 2020

--

This time I would like to introduce the lyrics of “Mayday” recorded in the album orbital period of BUMP OF CHICKEN.

Mayday

I could hear silence from that part of yourself you hate.
I’m standing right in front of you, but it sounds so far away.

looking for the source, all I reach is puddles
supposing this is the human heart, there’s no telling how deep it is

whether it was me you were calling or not, that doesn’t matter
it’s not really the issue.

I wonder if my breath will hold, to the depths of your heart
I will dive down until I find the part of yourself you drown there
It will be harder the closer I get
but when I breathe again, it will be together with you.

I heard that silence again, like before
and if you dive in as you did before

we’ll keep the kisses we shared in the other, careful not to lose them
and, in your place, I’ll bring it down to that part of yourself you hate

We’re all separate beings because we all have our own lives
It’s when we learn what it means to be lonely, that we can recognize that warmth.

Do I have the courage? Once I peek into your heart
I must know each and every pain you hide from me.
Instead of letting you hurt, I will make myself hurt as you do
if there’s no way to share that pain together, I’ll feel it two times more than you.

We’re scared, you and me
to look at ourselves, to have others see us
or to see into others
but we send out this mayday like a prayer
from the depths of the part of ourselves that we drown

the signal sounds out
deep in a chamber of the heart
so this is where you were, come here, don’t run away
once I’ve found where it’s coming from, I’ll give you this kiss
It’s from yourself, I’ve kept it for you.

Do I have the courage? Once my hand takes yours
I’ll take you outside without letting go, you can trust me
Will my breath hold out until we get outside the heart to where it shines
When I finally breathe again, it will be together with you.

--

--