Connect with the Tokyo Olympics ~ through the toilet ~

TakBoon
4 min readFeb 16, 2020

Hi, thanks to TakBoon for reading.

Released an app for finding toilets while traveling to Japan (ToiletDASH) with iOS and Android apps.
Click here for details

Why did I make an app to find a toilet?

I look forward to the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. However, both tickets and volunteers have been dropped.

At that time, Google TV commercials caught my eye.
I was interviewing people from the Olympics, such as Athens, Beijing, London, and Brazil, about what they should have done at the Olympics.

Watching the TV commercial, I was often inspired to think that I should have done it after the Olympics, and I was moved to participate in the Tokyo Olympics.

As a result of my breasts alone, I realized that the number of foreigners visiting Japan “toilet” was increasing compared to last year and that the supply of toilets in certain areas could not keep up.

I think that the toilets in Japan are in place, but I don’t feel that the toilets in preparation for the Olympics have been developed yet.

Upon examination, I found more opportunities to be featured in the news and realized that this was an issue that had to be resolved immediately.

Tokyo Olympics 250,000 people are coming! Is the toilet enough?

Public toilets, “Women need three times as many men as men” What is the task of experts ringing before the Tokyo Olympics?

The solution I thought was

・ Share toilets that can be used by Japanese living everyday

・ Lending a toilet at home during a specific event such as during the Olympics

I thought that this could solve the shortage of toilets.

There are several apps for finding toilets in both iOS and Android in Japan,
I felt that the app was not designed for foreign visitors to Japan. After that, it looks like it’s hard to use in UI and UX.

The app to find toilets so far …

・ The app is not intended for foreign visitors to Japan

・ Prerequisite apps used by Japanese

・ UI and UX are not cool

・ Ads are persistent even if you want to find a toilet in a hurry

The features of the toilet app I would like to propose are as follows.

・ Can be used for free without user registration

・ Convenience of toilet can be identified by icon color

・Supports English and Japanese so that foreign visitors to Japan can check toilet spot information

・ UI and UX are cool

・ Do not display advertisement

Also, when you want to rent only a toilet, there will be language barriers.

An infographic communication card called “Toilet Card” is installed as an application function.

We believe that if a toilet spot causes communication with shops or people, it can be rented smoothly by presenting it.
I believe that lending to foreign visitors to Japan can connect with people around the world.

In the future, I think that the mobility of people will increase as the cost of moving dramatically decreases. In that case, restrooms in countries and regions that you do not know are troublesome.
In the future, we hope that users will be able to share information on toilets around the world and provide a lifestyle in which finding a toilet will not be stressful.

If you have sympathy with this service, please introduce the app if you have friends near you, such as SNS, or if you plan to travel to Japan.

Thank You

--

--