Mine have guided me,

Takhatana
2 min readMar 16, 2024

--

Mine have guided me,

back and forth,

here and there,

not quite everywhere.

To a hundred new places,

to discover favourite spaces,

losing count of paces.

They’ve drifted down paths not made for me,

and then back again to safety,

all the while never leaving,

only leading,

and me, simply pleading:

‘Never stop this wandering I’m needing!’

Along pavement, gravel, stone and earth,

through forest, woodland, bush and dirt,

over mountains, into lakes, and running boldly to the seas,

under open skies and gently waving trees,

I’ve walked and walked and walked and walked.

Going anywhere,

to get somewhere,

finding nowhere,

I the humble voyager,

must trust in them to carry me,

with purpose, joy, and curiosity,

no two journeys are the same for me.

They’ll take my mind and body,

to the one place that means everything,

to the one place they’ll be free.

So I’ll continue to roam,

into the unknown,

but take comfort in knowing,

the path they’re on is taking me home.

--

--

Takhatana

My name is Professor Tanvir Ali Khatana.Teaching English in NUML,University Islamabad and Three Other Universities English Literature at Masters level.