Sharing some of the most important tips to help classmate to maximize his career

Talha Mehmood
4 min readMay 5, 2017

--

I always have a question in my mind that “ how can I maximize and manage my career.” I search a lot but I can not find a true answer.

This year, fortunately, I started fellowship at Amal Academy where I find the true answer of the question. I found the 6 tips to manage and maximize my career. These 6 tips are really inspired me a lot and I decided to share it with my classmate. These six tips are following:

  • Do an internship before pursuing a higher degree to confirm if you like that field/industry
  • Don’t do PhD if you want to be an entrepreneur or work in corporate sector
  • Spend at least one year in your first job
  • Find your passion and align it with your career
  • Decisions are very unique to each person, what’s right for one isn’t right for the other
  • Own your decisions: Don’t let other people make decisions for you and don’t blame anyone else.

On the first stage I decided to share it with one of my class mate. I was sitting in the Library and here I meet one of my classmate. His name is Umar and he is very cooperative. So, I decided to share the 6 tips with him. He said, no problem, you can share it with me and I think I can learned a lot with your experience. I was really happy because I can share what I learned. Now, I feel I am a Professor. “That is really a good impression.”

Our overall discussion is on the tips which I learned at Amal. He is much passionate and show love to listen me carefully. He also gave me some tips where I was wrong.

Then our conversation was started:

Do an internship before pursuing a higher degree to confirm if you like that field/industry

When I started this topic, I gave him some example of myself. I do an internship at Finance department at Packages limited, where I learned that finance is not made for me. He also agreed to that point that is interesting for me to understand him better.

Don’t do PhD if you want to be an entrepreneur or work in corporate sector

Before starting this topic, I asked him a question about his future plan. His answer was, he liked to go in management field and also start his own business in future. Then I said, what would you do, if you get a chance to do PhD? His answer shocked me. He said, “I am not wanna be a professor in future, I start my own business. Then why I do PhD. I Preferred to do MBA instead of PhD”. Then I realize, we are on the same page.

Spend at least one year in your first job

Then I asked a counter question, “Can you do MBA after your graduation or do it after gain some experience?” His answer was, “ I want to do MBA after my graduation.” Then it’s time to understand this point. I elaborate this point with some examples and after the conversation of this point, he agreed me and asked me that now he want to do internship after gaining some experience.

Find your passion and align it with your career

When we start this topic, my friend was seemed much interested. It shows that he was much liking this topic. He said that, I have passion i HR Management that is way I started my specialization at Management. ☺

Decisions are very unique to each person, what’s right for one isn’t right for the other

I asked my friend that “Can you ever followed the decision of others.” He said that, Yeah I mostly followed what’s my friend decison and I implement it to myself. Then I show him that you’re wrong. I quote some example that you you’re unique and your behavior is changed to your friend. So, always trying to do something that is according to your personality.

Own your decisions: Don’t let other people make decisions for you and don’t blame anyone else

At this point, I said my friend that it’s your life. You have right to take your decision. Once you made a decision then you had to strictly followed this if you want to succeed in life.

This is the starting of the peak and we have to take each step very carefully. This Conversion also teached me a lot and I only asked for my friend “Thank you for your time and which I learned from you.” My friend is also very happy because he learned such things which he never known before.

--

--