Talicia Raggs
1 min readJun 8, 2020

--

Another example of how racism is learned. There were no black people in your country, so there was no one for your "elite" to villify to avoid losing their advantage.

Interestingly enough, I experienced what you speak of from the perspective of a black person traveling around Easstern Europe last year. I was in Poland, visiting the Black Madonna relic when I encounterd a group of 15 or so little 7 or 8 yo Polish girls with 2 Catholic School nuns. I was using the restroom. When I came out of the stall, the kids were so excited to see me, they cheered and held up their hands. I had no idea what was happening but I cheered them back and gave everyone high fives. It was like i was a rock star. I asked my tour director wtf just happened and EMBARRASED she said "they dont see any black people. Based on what they see in music videos and movies, they were excited probably because they thought you were really cool." She actually apologized and hoped I wasn't offended. I told her, first, they have excellent taste and second, that was better treatment than I get in the states so I wasn't offended at all. But it's amazing how we become just "people" again when there's no narrative against us being constantly pushed.

--

--