10 Reasons London, UK is Digital Nomad Friendly

Tali Love
5 min readJan 24, 2018

--

When booking my flight to London I wasn’t expecting very much. I’d heard so many negative things about it that I almost failed to give it a chance. After spending about two months there, I am so glad I gave London a chance.

All the things that people say are true, it’s cold in the winter, people seem to forget that London has 4 seasons. If you don’t like cold weather, don’t visit London during the winter. It gets dark early; this is true and it sucked, but not enough for me to throw the whole town away. It rains a lot. Ok, this is true as well. It rained a lot when I was there but it wasn’t a constant down pouring of rain that made things impossible.

It’s boring…I can imagine that if you go for a vacation and stick to the tourist path it can be fairly boring, but if you get off the beaten path and experience London like a local, I believe that you will have a much better perception when you leave.

Now that we’ve gotten all of that out of the way, I want to speak to those of you that live a Nomadic lifestyle. Perhaps had I gone to London for a week I too would have a negative perception. But after immersing myself into the culture and becoming an honorary Brit I can’t say enough about how wonderful this place is for those of us that live this lifestyle.

Below are my 10 reasons why this place is gold for Digital Nomads.

1. Norwegian Airlines

We can’t deny that Norwegian offers affordable rates to travelers looking to arrive and depart from some of the best places on Earth. If you are flying from a location that Norweigan services, then you are in luck. Book your flight to London and you won’t be sorry.

2. Free Housing

Yes, you read this correctly. While it’s absolutely true that housing is in London isn’t cheap the amount of housesits available in this area is unreal. Seriously, I had several offers on the table and could make my choice regarding where I wanted to stay. Housesitting isn’t an option for any and everywhere you want to travel but I’m willing to bet that you tried for one in London, you’d get it.

3. Cheap Food

I was surprised to discover how cheap and authentically good the food is in London. Now I’m speaking to Nomads that plan to park here for a while and go on weekly grocery hauls. You are in luck! I can’t say enough that you need to check out Aldi. I personally had a bad opinion of this store based on what I’ve experienced in the United States, but I was blown away by the prices, quality and selection that these stores had. If I could take a store all around the world with me it would be Aldi in London.

4. Free Attractions

This place has so much free stuff to see and do, from festivals to museums to wine functions at the museums that won’t set you back for very much. Just walking the streets in London you will be entertained. One of my favorite experiences was the Changing of the Guard and I didn’t’ pay a dime. Even riding on the upper deck of one of the big red buses is a treat.

5. Diversity

Any and everyone should feel welcome in London. There are seriously people from everywhere there and I personally found it refreshing that I could find variety, materials and supplies that were suitable for me. It’s not everywhere that I can find my shade of make-up and hair products that actually get the job done. You will also become spoiled as there are delicious restaurants with all kinds of food. I had some of the best Spanish tapas and wine that I’ve ever eaten in my life in London.

6. Free Cash Withdrawals

It can’t just be me that thinks it is absolutely wonderful that I can draw all of the cash that I want for free in London. This is certainly a perk that I can live with.

7. Good Wifi

Yep, The Wi-fi is Good

8. Easy Public Transportation

Grab an oyster card and download the CityMapper App and you will be good to go. Should you find yourself confused, they have plenty of people working in the stations that will happy to help you get your route sorted.

9. Active Expat Community

If being social is your thing, there are plenty of expats in London that will be happy to greet you and engage with you. Check out meetup.com and do a search on Facebook to get connected.

10. Livable

This place is livable. Believe it or not, when it comes to becoming a local in London, it opens itself up to greet you. Walkability, affordability and variety makes it a winner for me. I would seriously consider making London home. That’s just how “livable” it is.

For more content like this log on to https://prettybrownnomad.com

Quick Read

PS: If you enjoyed this, please consider 👏 it helps me out a lot. Thanks!

--

--

Tali Love

Communication, Tech and Travel have my heart! I.G. @prettybrownnomad Twitter @prettybrn_nomad