From Siemens A60 to Nexus 5X in 13 years

Tamas N
7 min readJun 28, 2016

--

Siemens A60–2003

I was so excited about this phone it was an incredible feeling to have a telephone with a color display, even without camera. I remember talking so much on the phone that it got hotter than todays smartphones. The display was so horrible for todays standards but back in the days it was a decent device. Basically it was a normal phone, back in the days we used the phones only for SMS calls and maybe some offline games. It’s funny that it happened only 13 years ago todays kid will never know what a big thing a colored display was on a phone. Even though it had edge internet connectivity I barely used the internet on it. I think I didn’t even had a connection on my PC. I remember once I washed it in the washing machine, I thought that was it ,but luckily after a cure with the hair drier and a day on the sun the phone worked for another 2 or 3 years without any problems. I can imagine a durability test on that phone, I’m sure it would survived, it was made in such a way that if I dropped it it fell in pieces so nothing broke. I just had to put the pieces together. Sincerely I don’t really remember the performance of the battery but is lasted a few days that’s for sure. My favorite game on this little device wasStackAttack 2. Even the phone itself didn’t had a camera you had the possibility to attach a external camera with a VGA resolution. I had in plan to buy one but I got my next phone.

Nokia 3200–2005

This phone was the little brother form the 3220. The special with this was that it had only 9 buttons, and a easily customizable case. Obviously the phone was a looker. It was a well designed device, with a little better resolution and a built in camera. It had a flashlight, which was super useful. Favorite game Bounce. At the time it wasn’t the newest or the flagship of his time but it had personality and that’s why I liked this phone.

Nokia E50–2006

Omg symbian operating system, Symbian OS 9.1 to be more specific. These were the first smartphones. Download and install applications was a huge thing 10 years ago. If I’m really honest with myself this was my favorite one of all time. Maybe because I had to wait a year to have it. But the slim longish design was perfect for my taste. The joystick was a solid one, I heard people complaining about it but in my case it worked perfectly. Of course the camera had only 1.3 MP but I was satisfied with the pictures. It was my first phone with extendable storage. Taken in consideration that the app market wasn’t that far as today I had a bunch of apps installed. This was the phone I got used to the internet on it but it was expensive back then. Sadly I changed it for a fake Nokia N95 ( the best phone on the market ) that I used for 3 hours and it died.

Nokia E51– 2008

After I lost my E50 I had a good feeling about the E series so I decided to buy the next one. Sincerely it was a bit of a disappointment after the E50 it wasn’t a model that good. I had problems with the speaker, if it was a loud environment I had to be very attentive what the other one was saying. And believe it or not I bended it. It was my fault I went to the gym with the phone in my pocket and when I came out it had curves. All in all it was very similar to the E50 but not the same, something was missing something wasn’t there.

Sony Ericson W880i– 2010

It was a kind of a downgrade, but my E51 died so I had to buy something within the budget. The famous Walkman phones. The design was really good it was the slimest phone I’ve had. It was nothing spectacular but this was my best option after my E51 died. The best part of this was the extended speakers I bought for almost nothing from the jumble sale. For a speaker that small the quality was awesome.

HTC Desire C — 2012

My first touch screen smartphone with Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich). 512 MB RAM, 5 MP Camera touchscreen it was wow for me. Android?! Of course I had no idea what that meant back then. I was so excited about the games the control of the games I had to tilt my phone to control a car or whatever it was, awesome. I was back in the smartphone business and it was a great feeling. I think this was the time that the Android operating system took over and began to control the smartphone industry. Unfortunately it broke, the touchscreen went crazy. But for starters it was perfect, for me to get used to the Android OS. And of course to know the best apps on the play store like Dropbox, Shazam and all the fun games.

Samsung Galaxy SII — 2013

My first Samsung device, this was my first flagship. I don’t know why but after the Nokia E50 this is my second favorite at this point. Alright I had it for only for a year or something like that, but I got used to it, and let’s be honest it was a great phone. The camera was awesome it had a decent processor (Dual-core 1.2 GHz Cortex-A9), 1GB memory. And the display was gorgeous or at least for me. The grip of it was also perfect for my hands, it was slim and light it had a big display, the only reason I sold it was that one of my friends wanted to sell his HTC one M7 to me.

HTC One M7– 2014

The best way to describe this phone is wow. Super fast, snappy without lag’s. The aluminum body was awesome it felt great in the hand, it wasn’t the lightest one but it was good so. The ultrapixel technology didn’t took over but it was worth a try, and the camera performance was decent. Sometimes it got hot, but only by heavy usagge. At this time this was my fastest phone, I almost never had problems with the performance. One time the phone didn’t turned on, after I left it for charging over night and that was it, it never worked again. I didn’t had in plan to sell it, or to change my phone but since it died I had to. So I decided to have a Nexus device.

Google Nexus 5X — 2016

I didn’t regret my choice it’s a great phone I really like it, the fingerprint sensor is super fast great display, the camera takes wonderful pictures. I made a good choice, here you can read the fullreview. I’m very curious what the next Nexus will be, but I might consider an upgrade we’ll see. The phone works great with the cardboard apps. One of the best parts I forgot to mention in the review are all the preinstaled Google apps. I see myself using them more than ever, and I really like it.

It was a fun and exciting ride from the Siemens A60 to the Nexus, lets see what the future will bring us. My bet is that in 13 years VR will be the next big thing. I’ll write an article about the travel from my first vr experience with Google cardboard and Nexus 5x to the 2029 flagship.

If you liked it you can follow me on facebook, twitter,tumblr, Instagram,Google+ and YouTube.

Have a great one!

Thanks for reading! :) If you liked it, hit that heart button below. Would mean a lot to me and it helps other people see this article.

Source: my website\blog

--

--