Tamia A. McEwen, PhD
1 min readJul 20, 2020

I choose to be soft.
In a world that sees vulnerability as weakness,
Preying on the whimsical nature of tender hearts.

I choose to be soft.
Because rigidity is for clogged arteries and train tracks.

Softness invites peace and tranquility.
Softness offers a renewal and restoration.
Softness preserves and revives.
Softness heals and hydrates.
I choose to be soft.

In a world that is brash and brazen.
I choose to be soft.

I tried being hard.
Hard hearted.
Hard headed.
Hard pressed.
Hard stressed.

And we know the saying of heads and behinds
When being hard is on our minds.

I want easy and light.
Fluffy, flowing and bright.

The world will bring hardness of its own.
So I choose to be soft.
-Tamia

Tamia A. McEwen, PhD

Tamia A. McEwen, Be Well, Friends LLC is a forever educator, wellness advocate, yoga & meditation teacher and PhD scholar who writes about everything she loves.