Where Have I Been? I’ve Been Dealing With Anxiety.

Tammy S.
5 min readMar 28, 2023
Image by WOKANDAPIX from Pixabay

I’m not sure it was noticeable because I haven’t been on here as long, but I’ve definitely been absent from Medium for a while. In all fairness, I’ve also been MIA on MyLot and Vocal Media, and I’ve barely updated the fan blog I run for my favorite band for fun.

Well, I’m about to open up to all of you, but I trust you’re all a supportive bunch.

Where have I been during my time away from these platforms? How could I not update a blog that I run for fun? I was preoccupied because anxiety decided to rear its ugly head back into my life.

I was officially diagnosed with anxiety back in 2011, after dealing with constantly feeling anxious and crying daily, and I’ve been on medication (Sertraline) since then. For the most part, my anxiety has been manageable. Unfortunately, I’ve had some disruptions in my life that contributed to my anxiety returning to the way it was in 2011.

One difference between the last time I dealt with anxiety this bad and the anxiety I’ve dealt with over the last few weeks? My parents are no longer with us. I lost my Dad in 2013 and my Mom in 2021, so that extra layer of support was gone this time around. Now, don’t get me wrong, I do have a support system. But even in my late-30s, navigating the world without my parents can be hard sometimes.

--

--

Tammy S.

Hello! I'm a fun-loving freelance writer from Maryland. :) I'll be writing about a variety of topics and experiences. My Linktree: https://linktr.ee/tswriter85