DIY: Personalized Gifts

TaniaRajabally
4 min readMar 29, 2020

--

A gift makes you feel special, doesn’t it? The cost of the gift is not important, but the emotions,efforts and memories attached to them make them special. What exactly makes a gift special? For me the answer is the “personal touch”. The more personalized the gift, the happier the receiver.

How does one make a personalized gift?

Is it a lot of effort? Or costs more money?

The answer is NO.

It just needs a special thought for the special person you want to gift.

So today, I will share with you some examples of simple, easy to make, cost-effective, personalized gifts.

What is a personal touch?

How to bring a personal touch in a gift is a question that immediately pops in your mind.

Go back in time and think of everything related to the person for whom you want to make the gift- the time you have spent together, the jokes cracked, and let’s not forget- the fun and fights that happen that make the bond strong and special. All we need to do is find a way to manifest these thoughts in your gift and lo! you have a personalized gift ready .

Personalized Gift Ideas

Now let’s get to making a personalized gift. Below, I have listed a few of my favourite gift items.

A memory book

We all cherish memories. What better way to relive them than through a memory book.

1.Making a tiny decorative booklet filled with photographs of your time together. The process itself brings so much happiness. Caption these pictures with their commonly used phrases, favourite songs or that incident. If you have a friend who cracks lame jokes often, why not add that and lighten the mood.

2.By making a little modification, you can also make a memory calendar. All you need is an old calendar. Stick memories on each flap to make it as personal as possible.

3.With the outbreak of the pandemic COVID-19, everyone is quarantined at home. At such a time a personalized birthday gift could be a video with photographs with either some commentary or their favourite song or favourite movie dialogues in the background.

Why should the one’s having their birthdays amidst this pandemic miss out the fun and happiness!!

4.Creative fridge magnets with a specific photo is another variation.Every time they open the fridge they will remember all the lovely moments you spend together eating or rather hogging.

Keychains

5.A cute little purse keychain which can be attached to your purse can be an ideal gift for your best friend- always reminding her of you. The colour combination can be of her favourite colours.

6.Scoobies were a craze once. Why not make them a craze again. They are easy to make and the variety of patterns available are mesmerizing. From a splendid range of pattern options to colour options, you can choose to make the perfect scoobie for your gift buddy.

And now it is time for reactions!

Let us see the reactions of some of my friends on receiving personalized gifts from me.

“I have never received such a gift before. It was very UNIQUE because you did not buy it but made it yourself and that made it special. I loved the idea that 19 pages of messages and photographs were used to symbolize my 19th birthday. Each page had feelings and blessings for me. Frankly speaking, I cannot forget that day and that birthday gift.”- Sakshi Milkhe

“Whenever I have a glance through your gift- THE BOOKLET OF MEMORIES, I remember all the mesmerizing moments spent. Your love and efforts really made it one of the sweetest gifts I have ever received. The apt and thoughtful captions showed your love and care for me. And it makes a difference in my life, as I know I will always have you for all the funny and precious moments I will have in the future.”- Sarah Gawde

I hope this blog gave you ideas of various personalized gifts and how it can bring a smile on your friend’s face as it did to mine.

--

--

TaniaRajabally
0 Followers

Third year computer engineering student